Betsy's Mandarin Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Soooo good!! I did what others had suggested and reduced the amount of oil to equal the amount of vinegar. I used olive oil and red wine vinegar. I also added just a little of the mandarin orange juice to the dressing. This is a great salad! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I loved this! I made it tonight for BUNCO i was hosting, and everyone raved about it. The only alteration that I made was adding about 1/2 cup dried cranberries. It added some nice color variation, and the tartness/sweetness addition was really great! I cannot wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was very good base to start from but I felt it lacked substance. I added dried cranberries, onion, and crispy Chinese noodles and it made it great. 5 stars with tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very yummy. Followed other reviewers advice and cut the oil in half and I used fresh parsley instead of dried. The almonds were amazing on the salad. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Made this salad last night and my husband asked me to make it every day! It will become a staple in my house. Thank you very much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
A little on the sweet side - really liked the recipe and will make it again, but will do something to reduce the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mishi
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Very easy and tasty! I didn't have apple cider vinegar, so I just used plain white vinegar, but it still tasted great. I think next time I might try some of the other suggestions about using 1/4 c of oil instead because it was a bit oily. Instead of red leaf lettuce, I just used various salad greens that I had on hand. Also, I used a white onion instead of a red onion (that is what I had on hand). I followed the other tips to soak the onion in water first. I also left out the celery becuase I didn't have any. Very tasty salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
OUTSTANDING salad! Really, I was quite impressed. This would be a 5 star recipe with the one minor adjustment of reducing the amount of oil in the dressing to equal the vinegar. I also added a few Tablespoons of the orange syrup to the dressing, but I don't know that it made that much difference. I can't wait until my next dinner party. This is sure to be on the menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I made this salad for a potluck dinner last night and everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. I used a combination of red leaf and butter leaf lettuce, substituted Splenda for half the sugar and used raw almonds in order to save on the calories. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States