Betsy's Mandarin Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
this recipe was delicious the only adjustment I made was skipping cooking the almonds. I use almond slivers it was delicious thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Made this for a family dinner using 2 bags ready to eat romaine and canola oil versus vegetable. Didn't use parsley, onion or celery. Was SO good. My mother in law makes this but it calls for a bit of tobasco in the dressing but tastes just like this recipe. Will definitely be adding this to one of my "go to" recipes when I need to take a dish somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Fantastic and so refreshing! The only change I added. I sprinkle coconut flakes to it on top adds a bit more sweetness and texture to it. Everyone loves this salad when I sever it and never have any left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Just a little too sweet...otherwise it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
A woman at my work made this salad and I HAD to have the recipe. I made it just as the recipe states and all I can say is it is delicious and my new favorite. I may do as others suggested and add craisins next time. Just be careful heating the sugar and almonds and take it low and slow. You think the sugar will never dissolve, but it will -- just don't rush it, otherwise it might burn. Yummy salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Absolutely wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I make this once a week. Everybody loves it. The only change I make is that I substitute walnut oil for vegetable oil, and I do this with all of my homemade salad dressings I just like the flavor better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I had a can of mandarin oranges in the pantry that was getting old, so I selected this recipe to use them up. I just toasted my almonds (350 degrees for 8-10 minutes) rather than glazing them with sugar. Other than that I followed the recipe. This was a nice combination of ingredients and made for a tasty salad, however I did think the dressing was lacking a bit. I would make this salad again, but I would try another dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This recipe was good except for the red onion! It was really spicy even though I only used 1/2 an onion. Next time I make this, I will replace the red onion with another sweeter onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was very good..based on other reviews I cut the oil down to 1/4 c but it was almost too tangy so next time will make as is. Different salad that I will not be afraid to take to share. Definitely put the dressing and almonds on right before serving or lettuce will wilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States