Beth's Tex Mex Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I made this as a dip for vegetables. I used reduced fat sour cream and homemade taco seasoning mix. We loved it, especially me. I especially loved dipping cucumbers into it. I will make this again, for sure, but next time I will try it with homemade pickled jalapenos instead of green chile peppers as other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Delicious. Be sure to add 1/2 cup mayo and chopped jalapenos, as other reviewers have suggested. Best if chilled overnight. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
WOW. This was the easiest thing ever (no lie - 5 minutes). Per the advice of other reviewers, I added 1/2 cup mayo and some chopped jalapeno peppers as well. I also used HOT taco seasoning. My guests loved it just as much as I did!! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
I made this for a cub scout camp out. Everyone loved it. I put in a little bit of jalapeno instead of the chilies. Gave it quite a bit of spice. Had alot of people ask for the recipie. I also put in both the cheddar and monterey jack like previously reccomended. Next time I think I will put the mayo in too to make it a bit creamier. Also I think I will use the chilies instead of the jalapeno. It was also very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
I made this for my office Christmas party and served it with Fritos Scoops chips...it was a huge hit. At least 10 people asked me for the recipe. Next time I may add tobasco to spice it up a bit. Thanks Beth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
This dip went really well.....just a couple of things I might change for next time,,,,I used jalepeno's instead of the green chili's...that was good....I did add mayo and some parmesan cheese, but maybe next time would use chedder plus monterey jack?? Plus I used one package of regular taco seasoning, and one of the hot seasoning,,,the hot one was too hot for me,,but everyone else liked it...I think next time I will just use the regular seasoning and add tabasco sauce...but all in all,,everyone said it was really addicting and delicious!! I liked that it was so easy- and would probably taste better sitting over night!! Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
At an office get-together at a colleage's summer home, I was the "It" girl - thank you to "Beth" - I may have landed a date with a cutie down the hall. After reading a lot of reviews, I subsitituted the green chilies for jalapenos - very spicy (and sassy). Also, I made it the night before, definitely gelled together well. I've been invited for future parties....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
I brought this dip to an office potluck and several people asked for the recipe. Next time I will try some of the other reviewers' suggestions and add jalapenos instead of chilies or hot taco seasoning, and maybe some mayonnaise. It was good as is, but it's always fun to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
I also used jalapenos instead of the chiles and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
My friends loved this recipe. I tweaked it a little after reading several other reviews. I used diced jalepanoes instead of the diced chiles. I used hot taco seasoning instead of mild taco seasoning. I added about a 1/2cup mayo since the taco seasoning was more than an ounce. And finally I added a few tablespoons of shredded parmasean. I made it the night before and served the next day. This is a hot recipe. Everyone wanted to know how I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States