Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Wow, look no further for THE BEST oatmeal raisin cookie recipe. I've tried 3 from this website and this one is the best- by a landslide. Husband said it was the best oatmeal cookies he ever ate, and his mom makes this for her speciality, and my cookies came out better. This is moist, chewy and perfectly sweet. I followed other's advice and used all butter, which gave a fantastic buttery flavor and this stayed moist for a good 3 days (maybe longer, don't know cuz it never lasts that long in our house). Just keep it in an airtight container. And definitely watch your cooking time. 9 minutes was perfect, 10 min. gave it more color and add more crispness to the edges. I like mine soft and moist and this gives it all--look no futher folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
898 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
These were very tasty cookies, I added another half teaspoon of cinnamon, a half teasoppon of nutmeg, and a 1/4 teaspoon of ginger. I also used all butter. I only left them in the oven for about 8 or 9 minutes so they would stay chewy after they cooled. when I left them in for 12 minutes they were hard as a rock when they cooled off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
630 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OCEANFLWR82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I did some checking and found that this recipe is pretty much the same that is printed by Quaker oatmeal. The only difference is the addition of cloves. I have been baking for years and have always relied on this recipe. The only change I make is to use pumpkin pie spice for a bit more kick. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
598 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annmariet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenport, New York, USA
Living In: Levittown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Oh. My. God. These cookies are delicious! I did make a few changes though. I didn't have butter-flavored shortening, so I just used regular shortening and added 1/2 tsp of butter flavoring. Also, a soaked the raisins in hot water first to plump them up, substituted allspice for the cloves, and dumped in a package of instant vanilla pudding to make the cookies moister. The result? One fabulous cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
380 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
i've made this recipe dozens of times since I first found it on Allrecipes. This is not the same recipe as the Quaker Oat cannister. That is the recipe I use to make. I double checked. Of course there are similarities, butter, sugar, oatmeal, etc. What Beth changes makes all the difference. The use of butter flavored shortening gives moistness and the cloves give great flavor. These are far superior to the recipe on the oatmeal box. They are the most delicious cookies. They have just the right amount of spice and crispy moistness. I would definitely use butter and not margarine. The taste is not the same adn studies are now showing margarine is no healthier than butter. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe, Beth. If you can come up with this great recipe, you should become a cookbook writer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
BETH!! I NEED HELP!! YOUR RECIPE IS AMAZING..BUT I THINK I MESSED IT UP!! I made the recipe exactly how the instructions say except I used all butter and no shortening like the others. I also uses golden raisins. When my cookies came out they were soft and perfect but they never HARDENED...this was to the point that they all broke apart and fell through the cracks of my cooling rack. I mean, I love soft cookies, don't get me wrong, but you couldn't even pick these up without them falling apart. It was almost like they didn't cook. I was also baking them for well over the time suggested (13-15 minutes). When I tried to salvage them into a container they formed into this big DELICIOUS block of oatmeal mess! The only thing I can think of is that I put the dough in the fridge prior to baking them for about an hour because I had to run out. Is that the problem?? I didn't know that this could make a difference. Is it possible that my eggs or flour or something was too old or maybe bad? I can't imagine that, but at this point I am desperate! The cookies were seriously amazing (hence the 5 stars), and I want to make them again, but I need them to hold their shape and somewhat harden! Please please will someone help me? Thank you in advance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I make awesome cookies, but I never had a good oatmeal raisin recipe. This one is it! I used all butter flavored Crisco instead of using any butter (butter tends to burn in cookies). I also soaked my raisins in warm water for 10 minutes before I added them to the dough. Use the convection feature on your oven (If you have one). Never grease or spray the pan (causes bottoms to burn). Wipe the tray off between batches. These cookies were soft and chewy with fabulous flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This is THE SAME RECIPE as on the Quaker Oats container - the only difference is the addition of cloves. The cookies turned out soggy and horrible. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
THE BEST cookie I have EVER tasted! I actually made an oatmeal mix for a trip I was going on that used cloves and cinnamon just like this recipe. I ended up not liking the oatmeal but didn't want to waste it, and when I came accross this recipe I was thrilled that it used the same ingredients! So I ended up making this cookie without changing anything, except using 1 cup of butter. BUT, my oatmeal recipe did have 1 1/3 cups dry milk powder in it and I thought it might alter the cookies a little, but they turned out UNBELIEVABLE!!!!! So basically I doubled the cookie recipe, used all butter, and had 1 1/3 cups dry milk powder mixed in also!! THEY TURNED OUT SOOOO DELICIOUS!!!! I have DEFINATELY found my favorite oatmeal cookie recipe! I baked for 11 minutes each, and saw melted butter on the top when I took them out, but when they cooled overnight they ended up nice and chewy in the morning. TASTE LIKE BAKERY STYLE!! EVEN BETTER!! MMMMMMM I would give 100 STARS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
Definitely the best oatmeal raisin cookie recipe I have ever made-these will be added permanently to my repertoire of Christmas cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States