Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
OMG!!!!!!!!! These were outstanding. Very dangerous. I don't normally write reviews, but I couldn't help it with this one. This is my second attempt at homemade cookies . . . my first attempt a couple of years ago failed miserably (think "rocks."). Cookies have always intimidated me, but I chose this recipe to try again. I gave it five stars, even though I followed the recipe except didn't use cloves (don't like the flavor) and added chocolate chips and walnuts. Also, I used all butter. They were great. I realized when I had eaten 3/4 of the first batch by the next day I had to get rid of the rest of the dough. I baked them up last night and brought to work. They're already all gone and it's not even 11am yet. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
My Husband said they were better than his mom's. He even told her that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I used 1/2 cup of palm shortening (better for you) in place of the 1/2 cup of butter shortening. . These cookies are so good!! Will be making them again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mecookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I just made these because my husband wanted oatmeal raisin cookies. First words out of his mouth " these are the best you have ever made! Save that recipe. Your searching is over!! Thank you so much. Only change I made was to put in half a cup extra raisins. That was only because we are huge raisin fans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Springchild

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsAltmiller
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Oh my were these good! I followed the recipe with the exception of adding cloves. I didn't have any so I added an extra 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I also soaked the raisins in water for a few minutes before adding them to the mix...this helps them plump up a bit and not burn. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Delicious! My husband loved it so much he said we had to make it our new staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Best homemade oatmeal raisin cookie I've ever had. Besides using ONLY butter instead of the butter and shortening combo, I followed the recipe exactly. With my convection oven it only took 10 minutes to bake. Irrelevant- the cookies dough was so good that I considered not baking them; try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Not like this recipe needed another 5 stars but the hubby loved them. I made half of everything but the cloves. Also used sugar-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I didn't have butter flavored shortening, so used regular. Other than that I followed recipe exactly and these turned out SO GOOD. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 3,485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States