Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
VERY delicious! Just the right amount of flavor, without being overpowering. They are STILL soft after a week in a plastic container! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is my new oatmeal cookie recipe! It's quick, and can be put into the oven right away. I scooped into balls and they only spread after baking slightly, so they were a very round, chewy cookie. 12 minutes was perfect for mine, and while still warm, they had an outer crispiness with chewy middles...however, even now after a week in ziplocks, they are still chewy and just as good! I used all butter, just because shortening is not available where I live, and I added some nutmeg because I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Bit dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
These are the best I've ever tried! I made these exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. The butter/shortening mixture makes the cookies just right - not too soft and not crunchy. I was hesitant to add the cloves because of their strong flavor but it blends in very nicely. It doesn't dominate as I thought it might. Just the right balance of spice. Nicely done Beth! (BTW, other reviewers criticized this for being the same as the Quaker recipe. It's close but it's not the same. Beth has added cloves and substituted 1/2 the butter for shortening. I think these changes are what makes it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
These cookies are very good, and the cloves make the house smell devine when baking. Exactly what I was looking for: delicious, soft oatmeal raisin cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
i luv this recipe!! there are yummy, chewier & have just a extra of flavor from the spices!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monkiesmum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Excellent cookie, chewy and spicy not too sweet, my changes included using Crasins soaked in hot water and drained instead of raisins, 1/2 c sunflower seeds and using all butter instead of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This is a pretty darn good cookie. I left out some of the cloves, since I know cloves can be pretty overpowering. I also added some nutmeg. Instead of raisins, I added pecans. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Pretty good. Cookie falls apart and doesn't stay put. I like the soft oatmeal cookie recipe better. I did add more cinnamon and cut back on the sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 3,504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States