Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This is the best recipe! I've already made these twice this week. Thanks for this wonderful recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
FANTASTIC recipe! My first time ever making Oatmeal Raisin cookies and they came out great. I even messed up the oats and put 1-minute oats in, instead of rolled. And they still came out great! Just as they were coming out of the oven i sprinkled just a hint more of the cloves & cinnamon to the tops for color. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amp1371

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Amazing recipe! Perfect oatmeal cookies! EXTREMELY VERSATILE RECIPE.....I was out of eggs and substituted pear apple sauce....didn't have cloves either so I used nutmeg...didn't have butter flavored shortening so I used butter and the cookies were the best oatmeal raisin cookies I have ever had (and maybe even the BEST cookies I have ever had). Next time when I actually use all the ingredients stated I am sure they will taste even better! This recipe is phenomenal thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srednakun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Really enjoyed these. The key to making any cookie stay chewy/soft is to take them out before they're totally done. You have to remove them when they still look just a little wet on top. Leave them for five or ten minutes on the cookie sheet and they will continue to cook and firm up. The shortening/butter in these helps to keep them soft. I added a cup of dried cranberries and a cup of semi sweet chocolate chips and maybe a tablespoon or so more of shortening. Also, I hate when cookies taste too plain and this cookie has lots of flavor thanks to the spices. Great recipe! It will be my new oatmeal cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This recipe is great by itself, though of course after making it a few times I felt the need to try some changes. I do use all butter (but mainly because I always have it, while I don't always have shortening). I also use pumpkin pie spice and extra cinnamon. The BIGGEST change I have made though is that I use a mixture of golden raisins, cranberries, and dried cherries. I used to HATE oatmeal raisin cookies until I discovered that if I soak my dried fruit in a mixture of egg, vanilla, and the spices for at least a day before using they are extra moist and juicy and completely change the texture. I make the cookies this way and call them "oatmeal fruit and nut cookies". AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I like to use my muffin top pan to get a crispy bottom and edges and a thick chewy middle. The crisp is only good right out of the oven but I keep pre scooped dough in the freezer so I can have them the way I want them. Sub craisins or mix craisins and raisins. When I want a chocolate fix I like to put semi sweet chips on top to melt after I take them out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I will never use another oatmeal raisin recipe again! I personally found that 9 minutes was perfect for smaller cookies and 10 minutes was good for slightly larger cookies. Sometimes I increase the cinnamon and cloves, but these are delicious as written. They were a big hit with my husband and family! Thanks Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I make these using only 1 cup butter, no shortening. This is the ONLY recipe I use to make these cookies and I get compliments every time I make them. I also took the advice of some other people on here and soak the raisins for about 20 minutes in warm water. My husbands office asks me to make these all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I used all butter since I didn't have any butter flavored shortening, also, I halved the recipe. They are good cookies, they remind me of spice cake somewhat of which I am not a fan, but I'll definitely finish these off. My only two observations: Firstly, the recipe says to drop rounded teaspoonfuls, which is WAY too little, more like rounded TABLESPOONFULS. Once I realized the error, I used the cookie scoop that I bought which is about a #40 disher which is 1.5 tablespoons (go to wikipedia and look up scoop utensil for disher sizes), and that was much more appropriate. Secondly, for those of you having trouble with them falling apart, my guess is that they were not baked long enough. I put in two cookie sheets, and after 12 minutes the cookies on the top rack were lightly golden and held together fine after cooling for 2 minutes then removing from the cookie sheet, but those on the middle rack wanted to bunch up and break and were still too pale, I put them back in for a couple more minutes and then they were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I followed pretty much what everyone else said with the butter and cooking time. instead of the spices suggested I used Trader Joes pumpkin pie spice. it has cinnamon, ginger, lemon peel, nutmeg, cloves and cardamom in it...I just sprinkled a bunch in and next time will put in more some extra flavor. I also added wheat germ, ground flax seed, cranberries, chia seeds and walnuts to make them even healthier. They taste GREAT...Just ate 2 before dinner!!! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cody, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 3,511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States