Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
The cookies turned out alright. I liked the extra spice to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Schultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
The cookies are ok, a bit sweet for my liking... and maybe its me but they were too soft as well... maybe less sugar and more time in the oven and it would be a lot more suited to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Great flavor. The cookies flattened out quite a bit, but that happens to me no matter what oatmeal recipe I try, so I don't think I can really blame this recipe. When cooked for 8 minutes, they were perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Absolutely the best recipe ever, they were a hit not only with my family but neighborhood kids and school teachers.I did take few pointers from other reviewers- baked for 9 mins., added a touch of ginger, i added 1 cup pecans, mixed in the oats, pecans, & raisens into the mixture by hand. They were addicting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
So wonderful. Everyone's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is a very good recipe. As others have noted, it's nearly identical to the Quaker Oats recipe - but that doesn't mean it's not good! My changes were VERY minor: 1) I used margarine instead of the butter/shortening combo (just my preference. I use all butter when I want a crisper cookie) AND 2) I used 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice rather than the cinnamon and cloves. Other things I found helpful to make a perfect batch of these cookies: I whisked the eggs before pouring them into the butter/sugar/vanilla mix, and then blended THAT with a whisk (gently) until smooth. No hand blender. I also folded in the dry ingredients in order using a wooden spoon until just incorported. I soaked my raisins in hot water while prepping the batter (makes for a much better raisin texture/taste). I refrigerated the dough between batches, and let the baked cookies cool on the pan a minute or so to set up before moving them onto a cookie rack to cool. NOTE: This recipe works just as well with fast-cooking oats as it does with regular rolled oats. It's even good with the multi-grain oats. Adding some walnuts and even pumpkin seeds tastes great too - especially when using pumpkin pie spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
It's a pretty basic oatmeal cookie, but not super great. After following the recipe just as it says, I'm a bit let down. It's just a normal oatmeal raisin cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Some of the best oatmeal raisin cookies I've had in a long time! Didn't change one thing in the recipe and will not change anything. Easy enough to make...my 4 year old enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
wonderful flavor, nice texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Great recipe. I personally found the cloves a bit overpowering, next time I'll reduce it to 1/4 tsp. I also made half the batch with chocolate chips added in. Not as healthy, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 3,520) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States