Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
These are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Wonderful texture and chewiness! Sadly I didn't have any cloves on hand so I subbed in all spice and added 1/2 tsp pumpkin spice as another reviewer suggested. Aside from that I followed to the letter and I think they turned out great! I made them for my boyfriend's birthday tomorrow though, so the real test is how he likes them. My roommates LOVED the ugly ones I gave them though, so fingers crossed he'll be stoked as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Completely awesome! It smells great and tastes delicious. Will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sammy
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Great recipe with a few tweaks: I omitted the shortening and used only butter. I substituted the cloves for 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and to give a punch of flavour I added an extra tsp of cinnamon. I also soaked the raisins well to plump them up before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmergGirl
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
This recipe makes a great cookie! We love them and the spices really work. Very delicious and chewy. I baked for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Verona, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I loved the recipe. the only substitution i made was to use a combo of butter and unsweetened applesauce and also straight butter (no shortening) and they turned out perfect both times. For a crispy cookie, i used room temperature dough and flattened them a little. And for soft fluffy cookies, i chilled the dough for a hour and scooped them into balls and did not flatten them at all. MOST IMPORTANT! the type of cookie sheet you use is critical. the best for any cookie is the insulated, flat polished aluminum sheets. T-fal makes the best one. do not use a non stick pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I made this recipe originally as a gift to send my 93 yo mother since she said her favorite cookie was oatmeal raisin. Well, she loved these and raved about them and frequently requested them. I still send her a batch and they are always a hit! We love them as well. These are the most wonderful oatmeal cookie. I took a tip from another reviewer and soak my raisins in boiling water for 10 mins and then flour them. The most recent time I used a mixture of regular and golden raisins and they were terrific. Truly a marvelous recipe. Thank you so much for sharing. These cookies have brought much joy to many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
it was a soft and chewy cookies with the side crunchy and centre being soft. although i used only white sugar in this recipe followed the instructed amount, I found it way too sweet for me. Will reduce the sugar the next time I make it. I have also replaced the shortening with butter and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Delicious! But next time I will not add the cloves. I used fresh cloves (therefore potent), and my cookies had a baking soda-type metallic after taste. I believe it was the use of cloves and not the baking soda that caused it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillian MacIntosh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,539) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States