Beth's Scalloped Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
I thought this was OK, but I don't like cooked cabbage. People in my family that do thought it was good. I used cheddar cheese, but the sauce wasn't very cheesy. Next time I'll use a cup of cheese. I would definitely recommend pre-cooking the cabbage like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
When I bring this dish to someone's table and tell them what it is they look at me as if I'm crazy. If i can get them to taste it, they go nuts. It's quite easy to make and qualifies as comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This is such a good recipe!! My kids loved it!! They actually ate cabbage!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This was incredible!!!! i added a few things though - i sauteed 1/2 of a white onion and about 3 chopped cloves of garlic in butter/olive oil and then let that drain along with the cabbage in a colander - i think it is important to let the cabbage drain THOROUGHLY (about 10-15 mins. in the colander) otherwise the recipe will be watery , like some other reviewers said and i also added more cheese than the original recipe called for and some black pepper to taste- there was none left. Even my husband and kids who are not fans of cabbage tried it (for new Year's day) and they loved it !!!! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
It turned out too bland for our taste. So having this surplus of scalloped cabbage, on clean out the refrigerator night one day later, I made enchiladas with the left over cabbage instead of beans as part of the filling. With the addition of enchilada sauce, more cheese, pork and sour cream it was excellent. But too much trouble just to make as a filling for enchiladas in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
This is so easy to cook...my family loved it! I used Velveeta cheese the second time that I made it and it was still great. Thanks Beth for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
No one in my family liked this. We all love cabbage, but this had no taste, and was just not appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Sorry, but there was no one who really liked this. I thought it was ediable if doused in S&P. I don't know why (b/c we love cabbage) but we didn't care for this and I followed the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Great cabbage recipe. As suggested by other reviewers I skipped boiling the cabbage and used a combination of American cheese and Monterey Jack and it came out great. I also added a little chopped onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States