Beth's Scalloped Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This was fabulous! As one reader suggested, I did saute some chopped onion in the butter before adding flour and milk and added a little cayenne pepper. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Absolutely wonderful. Very versatile (which is a sign of a good recipe). I steamed the cabbage instead of boiling it and sautéed 1/2 onion in the butter before adding the flour and milk. I used a couple slices of American cheese as well as added black pepper. I also had some French's Fried Onions in my cabinet, so I used them with a few crushed saltine crackers for the topping. My three year old ate it, (she doesn't like cabbage) so this recipe is definitely a keeper! It's a great dish to take to a family gathering. Easy to make as well. If fact, you can mix it up the night before and put it in the refrigerator. Then all you have to do is put it in the oven (it will take longer to cook because it will be cold). Just add the topping after it starts to bubble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yanceyville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This recipe was surprisingly delicious. I added onion for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This was simply delicious. I love cabbage, but my fiance will not go near it. However, he loved this. I took advice from other readers and let the cabbage drain for a bit longer...this helped a lot. I even tried it with crumbled bacon. It was delicious also. This one goes in my recipe box. Thanks Beth for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This was awesome! I don't even like cabbage and this tasted great!! Very easy to make, too. Thanks, Beth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
This was great! I had half a head of cabbage left over from making slaw and this recipe was so easy and delicious. The only thing I "tweaked" was the addition of a pinch of nutmeg and cayenne. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doggymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I just made this for a family get together...and whoever said this was too bland needs to 'tweak' any/all recipes...I can never leave recipes alone...always have to tweak them....this was excellent...going to make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Thanks for this great recipe. I made some changes based on the other's reviews. I drained the cabbage for at least l/2 hr. to make sure I got most of the water out. I also used pepperjack and cheddar cheese. I topped it with ritz cracker and sprayed butter spray on top. Excellent. I give it 10 stars. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Pretty good - was kind of bland so I'd add more pepper in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
My family really enjoyed this. This is simple to make and very very good. I made this according to the original recipe with ritz crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States