Beth's Scalloped Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
Good basic recipe though I recommend the following changes in order to make it come out DELICOUS. Use real cheddar cheese instead of american cheese. Use toasted bread crumbs instead of ritz crackers. The crackers were mushy. Using these changes, the cabbage was delicious, a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This was incredible!!!! i added a few things though - i sauteed 1/2 of a white onion and about 3 chopped cloves of garlic in butter/olive oil and then let that drain along with the cabbage in a colander - i think it is important to let the cabbage drain THOROUGHLY (about 10-15 mins. in the colander) otherwise the recipe will be watery , like some other reviewers said and i also added more cheese than the original recipe called for and some black pepper to taste- there was none left. Even my husband and kids who are not fans of cabbage tried it (for new Year's day) and they loved it !!!! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
I didn't even boil the cabbage and used a raw head shredded (which keep it a little bit firm and not soggy) and used cheaddar cheese instead of american plus added shredded carrots and celery just like coleslaw. very good. i think recipe uses too much salt and you really need black pepper. next time I will use only 1/8 tsp salt and more pepper. You can add more veggies and improvise on this recipe easily. A nice variation from coleslaw and mac-n-cheese all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Truly excellent! Neither my hubby nor I like cabbage but felt the need to choke some down on New Year's Day, and I'm so glad I found this recipe. Heck, I may even make it some other time! I read a previous review that stated they wished they'd doubled the cheese sauce recipe so I made 1.5 x the amount and it was just great. Should have drained the cabbage better, but I didn't know any better. This is a FIVE STAR recipe. It received rave reviews in my house. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlybat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
Pretty amazing: out of the ubiquitous cabbage comes a delightful side-dish, creamy and versatile. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Excellent! I prepared this almost to the letter - except I mixed the melted butter and flour together before adding milk (I added more than a cup of milk) and I just added several slices of American cheese bc that's all I had in the house. It came out great - no leftovers. A great recipe - especially because you can make it with pantry staples. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Thanks Beth. Great recipe, allows for a lot of variation. Cabbage was on special this week and I rarely buy it because I boil it and I like it but, well, it's just plain old cabbage. This recipe was more of a discovery for me, that I could actually doll up cabbage. I used 3 cheeses, equal parts (about 2oz. each) of Velveeta, Sharp Cheddar and Monterey Jack. I had some heavy cream instead of milk and topped it with the crackers. I added a little margarine to the cheese sauce too and melted it all in the microwave. I initially microwaved the cabbage too. Then I baked the assembled casserole in the oven. Easy, and the sauce was marvelous. But the concept of any kind of cheese sauce on the cabbage is one I will do over and over. I won't deduct any stars but my version wasn't, by any means, low-cal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
This was good,I added onions to the butter and sauteed them before adding the flour and added more cheese..and italian bread crumbs on top....My 3 year old ate it and he doesnot like veggies!!!!!will make agan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Sorry, but there was no one who really liked this. I thought it was ediable if doused in S&P. I don't know why (b/c we love cabbage) but we didn't care for this and I followed the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I will make this recipie again. I used cheddar cheese. I forgot if I added garlic or not, but I am thinking I did. And pepper is a must. I did use the crushed buttery crackers but left them in bigh chunks. Very yummy. My husband loved it. Mine was a little watery, so make sure the cabbage is well drained and that the sauce in nice and thick before adding it. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States