Beth's Scalloped Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Very good! I did what others recommended: used Cheddar cheese, saltine crackers and drained the cabbage for an hour before putting it in the oven. Everyone loved this except for my 17 year old son...go figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I make the same recipe that was my Grandma's. You have to make sure you drain the cabbage in a colander for a long time. I let mine drain for at least an hour. I always use plain old slices of American cheese. They melt down beautifully. Just add as many slices as you want to make it as cheesy as you like. My Grandma always topped hers with crushed saltines so that's what I use. I'm sure the Ritz would be good too though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I am a ex chef and found this simple wonderful recipe quite good.....I added french onions and a little La Victoria hot sauce to the mix....it gave it a nice tiny kick to the sauce and made it something I will make edven when entertaining my "picky" foodie friends...thanks for sharing Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I was out of swiss & used cheddar instead. I pan sauted the cabbage, then made the sauce in the same pan. Saved a couple of things to wash that way, and it came out really well. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I thought this was a little bit bland, but I really don't like cabbage too much. My fiance loved it, but I did add a chopped onion and some garlic salt. I also used a mix of american cheese and Cheddar, which I thought was good. There wasn't enough sauce for the dish- but that might have been me overcooking or draining too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This was very good! It was a little watery so I think I will let the cabbage sit in a colander so that it will drain better. I also used Velveeta cheese and I did not add any salt. The cheese made it plenty salty. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
pretty good. nice way to use up leftover cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Dork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I thought this was a great way to use up some leftover cabbage! I didn't cook the cabbage before putting it in the casserole dish and it was still cooked and creamy with the sauce. I sprinkled parmesan cheese on top with the crackers. Next time I will probably run water over the uncooked cabbage...to keep it moist and make sure the sauce runs over every piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristenainsworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This was good---Like Mac-&-cheese, but with cabbage. I thought I had ritz crackers but I didn't so I used Italian bread crumbs in place and it was delish. (Chedder instead of American) The sauce did get a tad watered down (Water from the cabbage, I'm guessing) so I think next time I'll give my cooked cabbage a little squeeze with some paper towel before transferring to casserole dish. This will be made again, Im sure, as my 3 oldest kids (aged 4-10)gobbled this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Thank you for sharing a wonderful recipe. Very quick and easy to make. Everyone enjoyed it, even those who aren't much of cabbage eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States