Beth's Scalloped Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is delicious! (and I'm not a great fan of cabbage) As suggested, I drained the cabbage in a colander while I whipped up the béchamel. I used the aged cheddar I had on hand instead of American, and since I didn't have enough crackers I added some Panko crumbs to them. Yum, yum! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This needs a little work. I think the directions should have the cabbage shredded into strips as opposed to wedges to speed up boiling time. The sauce was decent, though it could stand to be increased by half. Also, this needs seasoning other than salt. I added ground black pepper and some mustard powder. I used marble cheddar for this, but I'd recommend a purely yellow cheddar in the future. Some sliced onions and minced garlic wouldn't hurt here either. Also, I found the topping unnecessary. It was nice to have a side without rice/potatoes, but next time I may do half each cabbage and potatoes. Served with "Cheesy Pork Chops with Spicy Apples" from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was a yummy recipe! A big hit with the extended family...the children that usually turn their noses up at cabbage enjoyed it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yates Center, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Great recipe! I will be serving this one again and it is going in my Favorites folder! I modified my recipe slightly... 3 tbs flour, 3 tbs butter, 1 3/4 cups Milk and 1 1/2 Cups packaged shredded Cheddar Cheese. In the Cheese sauce I added 1/2 tsp Garlic powder and 1/4 tsp White pepper. Then to top the casserole I lightly covered it with Panko bread crumbs then sprinkled it with French's French Fried Onions. I could have eaten the entire Casserole!!!! I will serve this again, Thanks for the recipe it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I followed others ideas and sauteed the cabbage w/some garlic first. Then made the sauce in the same pan after placing cabbage in the casserole dish. I used American slices, Italian bread crumbs and a few saltines crushed up. It was just so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This dish was AWESOME!!! I fixed for New Year's day since we traditionally have cabbage for New Year's. This takes the plain ol' vegetable to new heights. This is what I did: (1) Cut a medium-size head of cabbage and boiled it for about 7-8 minutes and drained it for at least 2 hours (so the dish wouldn't be watery.) (2) Chopped a medium-sized onion and sauteed that in 2-3 tablespoons butter then I made a roux (3) Added the milk (I used at least 2 cups) and added cubed Velveeta and also added some pepper and garlic powder. (4) Sprayed a 9x13 baking dish with cooking spray and put in half the well-drained cabbage, poured half the chedder cheese sauce over the cabbage and sprinkled some shredded Cheddar cheese over. Then I put the rest of the cabbage on top and poured the rest of the cheese sauce and covered with shredded cheese and bread crumbs. (5) Covered with foil and baked for 1 hour at 350 degrees. My husband has even asked me to make it again. I will definintely make this every New Year's and many times during the year. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Foley, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
this was just okay. we found it kind of tasteless and uninspired. probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Perfect just the way it is! But I also love it because it's so versatile, I can add just about anything. Veggies or meat. Made this for my best friend who is really picky and she ate it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana
Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
very excellent recipe for cabbage ...i did use mild cheddar cheese preshredded.....and added some shallots to the bottom of the pan......had with the daily recipe of meatloaf cordon blue...and my boyfriend couldnt stop saying how great they complimented each other....we both love garlic so i added some minced garlic to the cheese sauce.... will make again when i want a good cabbage dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
3.5- could be better with some adjustments. I think I will add some onion next time. I also used a mixture of bread crumbs and parmesean cheese for the top, but I'm thinking the Ritz crackers would have been delicious. This is a very creative use for cabbage, and I'm sure we'll make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States