Beth's Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Taking a survey to determine the best chocolate chip cookie is as impossible as determining the best cola, the best burger, etc. It is sooo subjective. So many variables--the level of ability of the baker, the size and shape of the cookies, baking times, and imperfect oven temperatures to mention a few. Not to mention personal preferences...chewy or cakey, thick or thin, and on and on. I made this exactly as written, leaving some of the dough mounded, and flattening other batches slightly. The dough is just right...easy to work with. I found this dough will do whatever you want it to in terms of thickness. The cookies come out of the oven with pretty much the same shape they went in with. Having said that, I still found this a good, but just average cookie (three stars to me means average). A little on the thick side and not quite as flavorful as other recipes. I think if all butter were used it would take care of both issues. There are a lot of good chocolate chip recipes out there--my personal preference continues to be "Chewy Jumbo Chocolate Chip Cookies" on the Land o' Lakes website. Still, I would not discourage others from trying this recipe, as it just might be your favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
If I could have given this recipe no stars I would have. An earlier review referred to a "Golf Ball" analogy. They were being kind. The reason you need a lot of ice cold milk (as suggested in the final part of the recipe) is that you need a ton of milk to soften them up. Coming out of the oven they are hard (not crisp) on the outside and dry in the middle. As they cooled they just became hard all the way through. And yes I brought them out of the oven while they still looked light and undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Great cookie. I was a bit afraid of the flour amount, especially when the dough tasted floury, too. I added a third egg and about 1/4 - 1/2 cup of oat flour to get to a good consistency (if choco chips can be 'plucked' from the dough without the dough sticking, then you're good to go). Tip: put rolled oats in a blender until flour-like if you can't find oat flour anywhere. Oat flour makes a chewier cookie, but don't substitute it measure for measure. My other chewy cookie secret: A teaspoon of regular MAYO. No, you can't taste it, and NO NO NO don't use Miracle Whip!!! THAT would be awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPOOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Great basic recipe! I made a few alterations: I substituted baking POWDER for the baking soda, because it keeps them fluffier, and used 1 1/2 cups brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar, to make them moist and chewier. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
Oh my god! These were the best chocolate chip cookies I ever made. I've made so many chocolate chip cookies, but I'll never go back to those other recipes - this one is by far the best. I learned a trick on here to made the chewier and softer: mayonnaise. Add 1 teaspoon of mayonnaise after beating in the eggs to the creamed butter and sugar, before the dry ingredients. Wow! It was amazing. I never thought I'd want to add mayonnaise to my cookies, but it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMDMD

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
This is a great cookie recipe - I have made these cookies at least 4 times and have gotten raves every time. It also makes a massive amount (of small cookies) or a medium batch of larger cookies (which is what I do) They also seem to do better when I take them out of the oven promptly at 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
Very delicious cookie...soft and chewy, as promised. I really enjoy the texture, which is kind of similar to a really good peanut butter cookie. The taste is unique for a chocolate chip cookie but definitely great! A must for anyone who otherwise struggles with flat chocolate chip cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I've tried a ton of cookie recipes, and this one is by far my favorite!! I even use the dough (made with EggBeaters) as cookie dough for my homemade cookie dough ice cream. DEFINITELY do not overbake these, though, or they'll be hard. I only bake mine for 7-8 minutes, let them sit on the pan for another 2 minutes, and then let them cool on a cooling rack. I actually like these better the second day - they're a little gooey because I take them out when the middle's slightly underdone, but by the time they've cooled out they are absolutely fantastic. They're chewy, gooey, and delicious. I'm always asked to make these cookies for parties and picnics. Thanks Beth!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
If you flatten the cookies before putting them in the oven, then you will need less time for them to bake, say closer to only 8 minutes. If you do not flatten them and you drop them from a tablespoon then you will need the 12 minutes that the recipie states. So, ask yourself if you are a "flattener" or not and then judge your baking time accordingly and these cookies are a chewy delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Wowee Zowee! Easy, plump, chewy cookies that taste better every time I put one in my mouth! I followed this recipe almost exactly (I used regular shortening - just fine, although I will now get butter flavored specifically for this!) and let me tell you, I'm no baker, ask my wife, but these cookies turned out remarkable. I would say that in lower climates (I live shoreside in Hawaii) take the cookies out in 8 minutes. Also, stick to the tablespoon scoop of the recipe... the rounds look small, but these cookies are portly little gems! Thanks so much for giving me the confidence to get back into baking! Now, back to my next batch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States