Beth's Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
For years I've been looking for the perfect chocolate chip recipe- one where the cookies don't come out burnt and flat. This it it!!!! I used all shortening and skipped the pecans. Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Very good. but I would say you should refrigerate the cookies for at least an hour, this will make the cookie dough bake into a more cookie like form
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This recipe is absolutely the best I have ever made. They come out thick and chewy, yet NOT dry. Thank you, Beth, for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
These came out perfectly! Love the combination of shortening and butter and if you keep them in the fridge before baking ... they don't spread out as much when you bake them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I have to preface this review with the fact this is the first time I have ever used shortening in a cookie recipe, I usually bake only with butter but I had some shortening to use up and my son wanted chocolate chip cookies. These cookies do not spread, if yours spread either your butter was too soft or you did not measure your flour properly and you need to add more. I used my purple scoop which made 54 cookies, I flattened them with the bottom of a drinking glass, I used mini chocolate chips and half whole wheat flour, 12 minutes was perfect on Silpat lined sheets, edges were slightly brown and crispy, the center was chewy. A big hit with my son's hockey team and helped me clean out my pantry a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
These cookies turned out great. I cooked mine 8 minutes at 375°. They came out looking a little un-baked but once they cooled they tasted great.They stayed the same shape as when I put them on the baking sheet. I would diffidently share this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
As another review suggested, I added 1 teaspoon of mayo to the recipe. That is the only the only modification I made, and, BOY, OH, BOY!, are these cookies delicious! I got 3 dozen large cookies from the batch and will have to make more before the day is over! Thanks for sharing, Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Whiting, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Cookies came out really good. Crisp on outside and a chewy inside. I did add an extra 1/2 cup chocolate chips in addition to the pecans. Used a large melon baller to scoop out dough. Cookies were uniform in size, hardly spread at all and I was able to get 87 cookies from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Sadly I cannot rate this cookie high. It was tasty, but it was much too hard & crunchy for my poor, old, aging baby boomer teeth. There was nothing at all soft about them, & I took them out of the oven when the tops were just barely no longer spongy soft on top, & at only 9-10 minutes cooking time. I'll most likely treat my bunnies to them, it will be good for their teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady3kgt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Dartmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Fabulous!!!!!! these are my ideal cookies. They came out strange looking; they looked golden but other than that they looked exactly like they did when they were put in! they were still little balls. They were perfect other than that though, they were crispy and chewy. I would definitely disagree with the comment right before mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States