Beth's Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This recipe is absolutely the best I have ever made. They come out thick and chewy, yet NOT dry. Thank you, Beth, for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
These came out perfectly! Love the combination of shortening and butter and if you keep them in the fridge before baking ... they don't spread out as much when you bake them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I have to preface this review with the fact this is the first time I have ever used shortening in a cookie recipe, I usually bake only with butter but I had some shortening to use up and my son wanted chocolate chip cookies. These cookies do not spread, if yours spread either your butter was too soft or you did not measure your flour properly and you need to add more. I used my purple scoop which made 54 cookies, I flattened them with the bottom of a drinking glass, I used mini chocolate chips and half whole wheat flour, 12 minutes was perfect on Silpat lined sheets, edges were slightly brown and crispy, the center was chewy. A big hit with my son's hockey team and helped me clean out my pantry a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
These cookies turned out great. I cooked mine 8 minutes at 375°. They came out looking a little un-baked but once they cooled they tasted great.They stayed the same shape as when I put them on the baking sheet. I would diffidently share this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
As another review suggested, I added 1 teaspoon of mayo to the recipe. That is the only the only modification I made, and, BOY, OH, BOY!, are these cookies delicious! I got 3 dozen large cookies from the batch and will have to make more before the day is over! Thanks for sharing, Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Whiting, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Cookies came out really good. Crisp on outside and a chewy inside. I did add an extra 1/2 cup chocolate chips in addition to the pecans. Used a large melon baller to scoop out dough. Cookies were uniform in size, hardly spread at all and I was able to get 87 cookies from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Sadly I cannot rate this cookie high. It was tasty, but it was much too hard & crunchy for my poor, old, aging baby boomer teeth. There was nothing at all soft about them, & I took them out of the oven when the tops were just barely no longer spongy soft on top, & at only 9-10 minutes cooking time. I'll most likely treat my bunnies to them, it will be good for their teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady3kgt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Dartmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Fabulous!!!!!! these are my ideal cookies. They came out strange looking; they looked golden but other than that they looked exactly like they did when they were put in! they were still little balls. They were perfect other than that though, they were crispy and chewy. I would definitely disagree with the comment right before mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
My 13 year old son made these tonight and they were wonderful; nice and thick and chewy-yum! He's been searching for a recipe similar to the cookies served at his school and these seemed to fit the bill. He baked them for 10 mins and pulled them from the oven and put them immediately in the freezer. The whole family has loved them! (the only thing he changed about the recipe=1 C. choco chips and 1C m&m's and no nuts) Thanks for sharing this terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I made these for me, my brother, and his friend. They thought they were great, but I found a few flaws. Number one: make sure that the size of the cookie dough is a little less than a tablespoon. I like big cookies so I used a little over and they turned out HUGE and took forever to bake. Number two: they were a little too sugary. I could actually feel that grains of sugar as I ate them. Still, I wouldn't exactly encourage someone to use this recipe but everyone has different tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States