Beth's Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I found this recipe on here 2 Christmas' ago. And let me say, this is THE BEST chess pie recipe EVER. Mine & my husband's entire family requests I make this pie for EVERY occasion. And it's perfect just the way it is. Needs no changes! This recipe will stay in our family for years and years to come now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Love this recipe! It's just as good as Grandmother used to make! I'm surprising my mother with this pie on Thanksgiving and I know she'll love it, too! No tweaks needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Considering how many people love this recipe, I am assuming I did something wrong. The liquid mix looked right, but when the pie was baking it formed a crack in the top just before the filling set. I cooked it a few more minutes to finish setting, but the crack filled with liquid butter. After cooling, the crack sort of went away as the puffiness of the hot pie contracted, and the butter sort of disappeared back into the pie, but the whole texture ended up all wrong. Really, really, really greasy and grainy, and flattened out, and it tastes kind of like egg and sugar. When I softened my butter at the start, I microwaved it a little and it partially melted, and I am assuming that could be the problem. So I recommend your butter to be only soft and not melted if you want to try this recipe. Other than that I cannot figure out why mine turned out so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I just made this and it turned out great. I was worried about the cooking time due to other reviewers saying it wasn't done in the center. When my timer went off I turned off the oven and let it stay in there for about 15 minutes or so and when I took it out it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Love a good chess pie, and this is it! Such a great finish to a good old Southern dinner (which is a major treat since we are currently living abroad). Thank goodness for great recipes from home. Thanks for this one! Will make again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyAnnA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This is one of my favorite chess pie recipes, my grandmother says that it is better than hers and she is going on 80. Chess pie is my favorite and I just love this recipe hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I'd never heard of a Chess Pie but saw it while looking at reviews for Sugar Pie. I made one last night and I am pretty sure the Sugar Pie recipe will go behind this one. Oh my gosh, it was perfect. Hubby has a sweet tooth and this made his day. The only thing I did different was to use milk because i didn't want to open a large can of evap. milk. It didn't seem to hurt it any. Thanks Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Excellent recipe! This is definitely a keeper.I found out it needs an extra 15 to 20 minutes more on bake time for firming the center of pie.Other then that it's the best I've ever tasted. KUDOS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was great! My first time making it, super easy. I suggest using a deeper pie pan thought to avoid any spillage. I had to cook it a little longer than an hour and I let it cool for a bit to have it set. I will for sure make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States