Best Zucchini Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I added more garlic and a dash of hot sauce to spice it up a bit. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Floydada, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
A good recipe but a little bland. I added about 1 tsp of hot sauce to zip it up a little and added about 1/2 cup of freshly grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This was good but bland. If I make it again I will add some spices. I changed the receipe slightly by adding shedded cheese and panko bread crumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was an easy and tasty way to use up some zucchini from my garden. I cut it into "fingers" and served with a red pepper dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Excellent! In my first batch I sauteed onions and celery together. The second batch i didn't have celery and it didn't taste the same. But the whole family still gobbled it up within minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by speck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I took note of what some of the other reviewers said and made the following changes. I think it came out really well and will definitely make it again. This could be served warm or cold too. I shredded the zucchini and thinly thinly sliced a small onion and sauteed it until it was caramelized. I also added some much needed seasoning -- things like pepper (why isn't it in the recipe?) and a good pinch of herbs de Provence. I think just about any herbs you like with zucchini or eggs would work. I also think how you mix the ingredients could make the difference in appearances. I mixed all the veggies and seasonings first. I then stirred in the baking mix making sure to evenly coat all ingredients. Then, the cheese was mixed in. In a separate bowl I whisked the eggs and oil together and then finally stirred it all in. I took a bit of extra grated cheese and put it on top before placing it all in the oven. I think you could take some extra liberties with the recipe such as mixing in some red pepper or putting thin tomatoes slices on top before baking the whole thing. I think it came out well and all it needed was the right mixing and seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I halved this recipe to make it a side dish--I think it's more appropriate as a side rather than an appetizer. This is a good "concept" recipe that needed some help. Just a little bit of italian seasoning made all the difference to the taste, though it came out a bit dry. Maybe adding a little liquid (milk?) to the batter would have helped. I sliced my zucchini thin, but I agree with others it would be better shredded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
A wonderful dish! I added cheddar cheese to the top half-way through baking for a golden appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Colchester, Vermont, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This can come out a bit mushy, so perhaps decreasing the amount of oil or adding more baking mix would be in order next time. This can be kind of bland, so a little extra salt is in order. I made this for a pot luck at work and it went over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This recipe is less of an appetizer and more of a dish to serve your family when no company is over. It doesn't look appealing after baking, and I had to add incredible amounts of garlic and spices to make it flavorful. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sameera Azad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Party Appetizer

These marinated rounds of goat cheese are bursting with flavor.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States