Best Wild Rice Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was a delicious recipe to use up some wild rice and the 2 cups of half-and-half that was in the fridge. I did use Genoa Salami in place of the ham. I had it leftover from a salad and we thought it tasted great in this soup. I didn’t measure the onions, because we like them, I just used the entire small onion. My wild rice was already cooked as it was a side dish before going in this soup. My guys didn’t care for the rice as a side dish, but did enjoy it in this recipe. It was my dad’s birthday, so I took this soup, bread and ‘Strawberry Cream Pie To Die For’ from AR out to my parents house for dinner. The end result was a nice thick chowder-like soup. It paired nicely with ‘Pumpernickel Bread I’ another AR recipe. I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Great soup. Have to question whether the pepper quantity is a typo. I used half the amount and it still had a strong pepper taste. Also, should it be tbs or tsp of garlic?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
My family just LOVES this recipe. We make it every winter and its just thick and hearty enough that we end up making a 24-serving version and it only lasts a few days. We substitute chicken, instead of ham. It's great! While its true its may not have a "Wow" factor to it, its a nice comfort food on those cold winter days, especially in a bread bowl! If your from MN, this is very similar in taste (maybe thicker) to the MN Ren Fest version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I serve this in my coffeeshop... I'm packed when I serve this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Weyer Olson
Home Town: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I don't make a lot of soup with rice, but this recipe is so good! I had some ham to use up, plus some half and half, so it was perfect. The only thing that I did different was add some cayenne pepper just before serving, and used a wild rice mix, as that is all I had. We like most things with a little "kick". We had it with salad and crusty french bread, and it was wonderful! Thank you for posting. It will be on our special soup list from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAILBAG
Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I did not rate this a 5 only because I thought it had too much pepper and it was too thick. And I like pepper, but a tbl and a half was too much. Next time I will add only 2 tsp of pepper and use only 3/4 cup flour to make the roux. Other than that it turned out very good and very hearty. My store did not have plain wild rice so I bought a brown and wild rice blend and I liked the variety of rices. I ended up adding two more cups of chicken broth to thin it down a little. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
While good, this soup didn't wow me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j.e.dore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
My version of this soup is the same except instead of almonds, I use 2 cups of diced, cooked chicken. I love the creaminess and the added tang that the sherry gives. Serve with crusty, fresh bread and a nice salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This was just O-K. Once all the ingredients were combined, I could tell that, in all, it just wasn't that interesting. Soooo, I added a little (well, actually a lot) of red pepper. It definitely kicked it up and made the soup a lot more tasty. I also used about 3 times more ham than what is called for; it helped things along too. All in all, there was still something missing, but I couldn't put my finger on what it was. I will likely not be making this again; all the family could muster is, "well, it's different for sure".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Wow~ is right! This soup is very yummy. I added 1 cup of diced ham & 1 cup of diced chicken. I also used 2% milk (lower fat) and it still was rich and creamy. Sherry is optional. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States