Best Wild Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I thought this was a very nice lunch, and I will make this again. I used Trader Joe's Just Chicken so I could use as much as I wanted to add. I am thinking that the walnut olive oil would have been nice, but since I didn't have that I used a combo of lemon olive oil and avocado oil. It was the first time in a very long time I'd used water chestnuts, and I'm glad I did because they were very good in this. I would like a little something with citrus added to this and it would be perfect. Maybe Trader's Orange Muscat vinegar would work. I'll be trying this one again! Thanks, Kimber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Excellent for a summer salad. I used canned, cooked wild rice, which helped cut the prep. time down. I also used a homemade vinegarette. We will definitely make this one again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I was so excited to try this since the ingredients look marvelous and I'm always looking for wheat & dairy-free recipes. I found it bland until I got up in the middle of dinner and added chopped orange segments to it. Next time I will try it with some orange juice mixed into the vinegar/oil. We also ate it over chopped romaine for a full salad effect. I will definitly make this recipe again, but with changes to add flavor. Perfect for left over rotisserie chicken. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
This was very easy to make with pre-cooked chicken and is a nice change from standard chicken salad. I took it to a pot luck and was asked for the recipe by the hostess as well as several of the guests. The water chestnuts added a nice crunch; don't leave them out. I tried it once without them and it was a little mushy. Be careful of the salt if using roasted chicken from a deli or market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
ohhhhh! this is the best! my whole family loved it and it was perfect on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
Maybe you need to have walnut oil--I just used canola. I though the recipe lacked pizazz and won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
Great recipe. Everyone in my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
I had cooked wild rice leftover that I wanted to use up, so I tried this recipe. I was afraid that my very picky husband wouldn't like it, but we both loved it! However, we did think it could use more chicken. It's delicious, though, and definitely going on my list of favourites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States