Best Whole Wheat Chocolate Chippers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
call it a perversity, but i had to try this one with only one (bad) review and i'm glad i did. i accidently splashed in extra vanilla, and my margarine - not butter - was melted in some parts. i used freshly-toasted walnuts in place of pecans. my only problem was that i accidently baked them too long, about 15 minutes. THESE COOKIES have a nice nutty flavor from the whole wheat, and they spread out, but not too much like some other chocolate chip cookies. next time, and there will defintely be one, i will bake these at the suggested time. PLEASE ignore the other reviewer (excuse me) but i have absolutely no explanation as to why this cookie didn't turn out for them. whole wheat does take some getting used to, perhaps that's it. have a glass of milk handy for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine jellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
These were fantastic! A great way to avoid refined wheat flour and stull indulge. I scaled the recipe down, skipped the pecans, and replaced the white sugar with half as much Splenda. Will make these regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I don't know why anyone would give this less than 5 stars. We absolutely loved these! I didn't have any pecans, so I put in about a quarter cup of flax seeds for some crunch. I might add more next time -- they were pretty good. Personally, I couldn't even tell these were made with whole wheat. We'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
PLEASE NOTE: I would use the base cookie recipe here again - it is actually very good. However - I am debating on whether or not to even keep these after baking - the amount of chocolate chips overpowers the cookie! I love chocolate and these are just not up to par as written!... Might as well be eating a candy bar! Next time - I will add a MAXIMUM of 1 cup of chips for this entire recipe - or just eliminate them altogether and substitute 1 cup of brickle chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karin
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I thought this recipe was great! I had no problems whatsoever- I was a bit hesitant as to how the cookies would turn out before i put them in the oven because the dough was a little grainy, but they cooked fine. To anyone who likes pecans as much as I do, 1/4 - 1/2 cup of extra pecans works well. Also, I sprinkled a little cinnamon on top of the cookies before I baked them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
Never will try again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These fabulous cookies came out just perfect! I love when I can use whole wheat in a dessert. :) Didn't change a thing and we love these big, soft, gooey, tasty treats! Beware, this recipe makes A LOT! I only made 1/4 of the recipe and got 2 dozen good-sized cookies. Thanks you so much for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
These truly are the best chocolate chip cookies I've ever had! Made even better by not using white flour, in addition to the W.W. Flour I added some Flax Meal. I didn't do nuts this time, maybe next time. I baked them for the 10 min. suggested and let sit on the cookie sheet for 2 min. and then moved to cooling rack. Perfect! Only other suggestion is that if you have a dog, keep these and any chocolate away from him. My 2 yr. old puppy ate 1/2 of one before I could catch him. Chocolate can kill dogs. Thanks for a great recipe. Oh, and have a cold glass of milk available for dunking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
We really liked these. We're not nut fans, so we skipped the pecans. Also, I cut the recipe in half by using the handy scaling tool. Even though they are whole wheat, we didn't need 5 dozen cookies around the house. Especially when they are this good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
WW Chocolate Chipper Haiku: "Pass me some milk please! These cookies were a bit dry. I might make again." I scaled the servings waaaay back to avoid having this many cookies floating around the house to tempt me, and I'm glad that I did, b/c I wasn't too terribly fond of them. It's not the WW Flour (I use it in most recipes as it is), and I did go w/ walnuts over pecans, as it's the only type of nut that I had on hand. I don't know if it's the overly-generous amount of chocolate chips called for or what, but something about these cookies just didn't call to me right out of the oven with their whispered "eaaaaaat meeeeeeeee" like most CC cookies do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States