Best Whole Wheat Chocolate Chippers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2005
Never will try again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
call it a perversity, but i had to try this one with only one (bad) review and i'm glad i did. i accidently splashed in extra vanilla, and my margarine - not butter - was melted in some parts. i used freshly-toasted walnuts in place of pecans. my only problem was that i accidently baked them too long, about 15 minutes. THESE COOKIES have a nice nutty flavor from the whole wheat, and they spread out, but not too much like some other chocolate chip cookies. next time, and there will defintely be one, i will bake these at the suggested time. PLEASE ignore the other reviewer (excuse me) but i have absolutely no explanation as to why this cookie didn't turn out for them. whole wheat does take some getting used to, perhaps that's it. have a glass of milk handy for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine jellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karin
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I thought this recipe was great! I had no problems whatsoever- I was a bit hesitant as to how the cookies would turn out before i put them in the oven because the dough was a little grainy, but they cooked fine. To anyone who likes pecans as much as I do, 1/4 - 1/2 cup of extra pecans works well. Also, I sprinkled a little cinnamon on top of the cookies before I baked them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This is a GREAT whole wheat cookie and SO easy to make!! My kids kept asking for more. I didn't want to make 5 doz., so I scaled the recipe to 30 cookies and it made 3 doz. cookies. I accidentally melted the butter as I was defrosting it and they still turned out great. Probably a little chewier than normal, but still awesome! Next time, I plan on sprinkling the cinnamon sugar as recommended by Karin. I, like Tangerine Jellybean, just can't understand a one star rating, unless they just don't like the flavor of whole wheat! Your family will love these. Mine did! Thanks Submitter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Deeelicious! The whole wheat flour gave these cookies a great nutty flavor. I used almonds and ground them in a food processor so that they were very finely chopped. Also, I didn't have enough butter so I used 1/2 margarine. Still turned out yummy. I topped them with a cinnomen/sugar mix before baking. Family loved them and I love that they are made with whole wheat flour. These were fabulous cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeeMelCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I don't know why anyone would give this less than 5 stars. We absolutely loved these! I didn't have any pecans, so I put in about a quarter cup of flax seeds for some crunch. I might add more next time -- they were pretty good. Personally, I couldn't even tell these were made with whole wheat. We'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
We really liked these. We're not nut fans, so we skipped the pecans. Also, I cut the recipe in half by using the handy scaling tool. Even though they are whole wheat, we didn't need 5 dozen cookies around the house. Especially when they are this good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Pretty good whole wheat cookie, but too sweet for my taste. I'm going to try the recipe with less sugar and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Very good cookies! My kids and husband loved them and didn't even know they were made with wheat flour! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Was very happy with the way these turned out. I am impressed with how moist the cookies have remained even 3 days after baking them. More chewy and thick rather than the traditional white flour cookies that are thin and flat. I also added chopped macadamia nuts instead of walnuts/pecans. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States