Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Been looking for some good white icing forever and I have finally found it!! I tried this recipe as is--yuck. It was awful. One star. Then I re-did it with three cups of sugar, tablespoon of milk, half butter and half shortening. SO yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drama4Ellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Love this recipe! So fast and easy and has a great whipped texture....I made a few changes: cut the recipe in half (perfect for 24 cupcakes), used 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter, and 1/2 t. of almond extract instead of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This recipe is just fantastic! I was afraid to use it because I normally don't like shortening based frostings, so I took other's suggestions and did half butter and half shortening. I also used milk instead of water, and only used 1 tbs milk but I used almost 1 tbs of clear imitation vanilla, because imitation isn't as strong as the real stuff. But this was just great, the first recipe for frosting I actually LOVED the first time I tried it! most of the other recipes I have to fiddle around with for a half hour. Oh I also whipped the butter and shortening for about 5-7 minutes and added the milk and vanilla, it helps absorb the flavor of the vanilla better and makes for a smoother frosting. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I only needed half the amount of icing this recipe gave, so I just halved all the ingredients. 2 c. sugar, 1/2 c. shortening, etc. After mixing everything together, the icing was WAY too sweet for my taste. Since the recipe didn't call for salt, I added 3 tbsp salted butter and 1 extra tbsp of water to balance out the sweetness of it. It just needed those adjustments and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyss_Bliss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Very good! I have been looking for a recipe like this one. I did use 1/2 salted butter and a dash of almond flavoring and will continue to use this recipe for years to come. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Did not care for this. Followed it exactly but the shortening gives the frosting a strange texture in your mouth. The rating is for the recipe as printed. Note everyone who rated it high changed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This icing is amazing, simply amazing. It actually didn't work too well on my cookies, because it didn't stick to the surface very well and therefore wasn't really spreadable, but I think it would do okay on a different cookie or cake (I was using a very firm, buttery sugar cookie) or if piped on. More importantly, the icing tasted so good that I couldn't resist using it anyway, even though I had to just drop a hunk onto the cookie and smush it down. It tastes just like the cream filling in Oreos ... SO good. I'll definitely be using this recipe again. BTW, I used this recipe as-is (all shortening, no butter) but only made 1/4 batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This really is the "best white icing ever". Thank you for submitting this recipe, and the very relevant tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
That icing is the best frigging icing ever.....!!!!!!!!!!......my parents were in heaven ......and as a matter of s fact so wuz i!!!!!! u rock Megan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clayton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States