Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is my standard frosting, and it is based on a the Wilton recipe. It is infinitely adaptable. I add 1 teaspoon of almond extract and use regular vanilla extract (Adam's Best).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is my first time ever making homemade icing. It was perfect. Just enough sweetness. I used butter as a substitute for the shortening and I also used real vanilla extract. The dark color did not give a hint of color change the white icing. This was great for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Yummy! :) I made this with the butter cake recipe also found on this site. It is sooo good. I am not a fan of shortening, so I just used butter. I also added a sprinkle of cinnamon. This was fantastic! It will definitely be a go-to from now on! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
My new favourite icing recipe! It's excellent for cakes and cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
i'm sure this will be good, but ever thought of replacing the water with eggnog, just a idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
It was a day of rain and cold but I had to add confectioners' sugar to get it ready for the cake. Tasted really good, sweet but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
EXCELLENT!!! My daughter and I made sugar cookies last night and this was the frosting we used. I didn"t change anything and it came out perfect! My husband loved this frosting, and trust me, he's hard to please. Two thumbs up!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This is no lie. This is actually the best white icing ever. Easy to make, comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Perfect! I cut the sugar down to 3.5 cups and added .5 cups of cocoa powder and whipped it (adding water to get the consistency that I wanted) and it is perfect! Not too sweet, not too chocolate-y
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Been looking for some good white icing forever and I have finally found it!! I tried this recipe as is--yuck. It was awful. One star. Then I re-did it with three cups of sugar, tablespoon of milk, half butter and half shortening. SO yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drama4Ellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States