Best White Icing Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I tried this recipe because it has no dairy. It's easy to make and works well to ice a cake, but I do agree with a lot of reviewers that it is overly sweet and lacking in flavor, so I could taste the shortening. I used Spectrum vegetable shortening (palm shortening) so perhaps it tastes better when using Crisco. I used the white to frost the cake, and then added come cocoa powder to what was left, and piped brown writing onto the cake. I definitely prefer the chocolate version, as the cocoa masks the shortening flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I LOVED IT!!! It is better than store bought.;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Haley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griffin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I LOVED IT!!! I made it 3 times now and I loved it every time.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef haley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
The icing it's self tasted great. It makes for an amazing base! Although, I reduced the sugar amount to 2 1/2 cups, because I feel the icing would be too sweet if it had more. When I was decorating my vanilla cupcakes with this icing, the icing almost fell apart. I used all butter and 1 teaspoon of pure vanilla. It was just as white and tasted fine. I'll probably use this recipe again, and add something to give it a little more flavour. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This recipe is so perfect, so easy and so, so inexpensive. And versatile? You betcha'. Our favorite is to add a little extra water and peppermint extract and whip it for 5 minutes. It makes the lightest frosting. And it is the absolute best for decorating. The possibilities are endless. Thank you Meghan for the refresher on the best icing/frosting ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkippyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I did not care for the shortening taste. It was creamy for me and had a nice consistency and went on well. I just prefer a more buttery taste. I won't use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I used half salted butter and half shortening and it turned out perfect. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Super easy. I used butter and pure vanilla extract and it still came out quite nice and white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
The flavor is ok, but it practically melted when I put it on my completely cooled cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffinpatch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I used this recipe when decorating a half-sheet cake this past weekend. As another reviewer suggested, I used 1/2 cup EACH Crisco and salted butter. I do no agree that water works to thin out the icing; rather, it turns it into cement! I didn't bother with corn syrup, either. I used just a little milk (started with a teaspoon and added in little bits as I needed it). The icing is is very easy to work with, although if you are tinting it and need to use it at different times during the decorating process, put the piping bag(s) in the regrigerator to firm up (hot weather and icing do no not mix!). Using 1/4 tsp salt also cuts the sweetness of the icing, as the same reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States