Best Tuna Melt (New Jersey Diner Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I took faith in the name "Best Tuna Melt" and had to try even though I didn't see any pickles in the ingredients. I am so so glad I did try. I love the addition of the vinegar. I didn't have red wine vinegar so I used balsamic and it is still wonderful. I can't wait to try with red wine. I don't miss the pickles at all. I made into a toasted sandwich with provolone as I didn't have any swiss. So good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Tasted great. The kids weren't totally a fan, but my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Great Lunch meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Awesome! The directions lacked stating how far to set the rack below the broiler. I set mine to 5" below the broiler. Thanks CookinGirll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Waaaaayyy yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
best tuna melt ever! followed the recipe exactly and it's a winner as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was so good, and my husband said it was the best tuna melt he had ever had. I followed the recipe with the following exceptions: added 1 clove of garlic to the tuna, used low fat mayo, used 1 teaspoon of dried parsley instead of 1 tablespoon of fresh, and used provolone cheese instead of swiss. Also, I had made Jo's Rosemary Bread (from this website) earlier in the week in my breadmaker. Used that bread for these sandwiches instead of rye. I also followed another reviewers suggestion and broiled the bread on both sides for 1-2 min before adding the tuna and stuff. Wonderful. Will make many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Great recipe! (I was out of red wine vinegar, so I used balsamic)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I make this with chicken breast,avacado and mozzarella, everyone loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
The 5 starts is for the recipe "AS-IS". It's amazingly tasty! I've made this several times after and personalized it. Here are my suggestions. 1] Add finely chopped cornichons, small French pickles 2] Add 1 tsp. HOT German mustard (like Löwensenf). 3] Replace salt with Seasoned salt. I put the tuna mixture on German Rye bread and alternated finely sliced tomatoes with Swiss Cheese. My mom adapted it and adds finely chopped green peppers too. BEST Tuna melt per friends and family. Thank you Cookinggirllj!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oranaise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States