Best Tuna Melt (New Jersey Diner Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I really liked this, my husband didn't. I really liked it with canned chicken instead of tuna since I'm not a big tuna fan. and I forgot to get swiss cheese so i had to use cheddar, but i still enjoyed it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Excellent! My whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This was amazing. I had already mixed up most of these ingredients earlier, as per my usual recipe (tuna, mayo, relish, onions & celery plus pepper, paprika and hard boiled eggs). But after taste-testing it about 30 minutes ago, found it bland and missing something. So I came here, searched through the various tuna melt recipes and found this one. I would never have thought to add vinegar. But I did, according to this recipe, and the difference was instantaneous. It's so much better that I have to resist going back and eating more! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Excellent. Might add some red grapes next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I am happy to say that I am somewhat responsible for creating the tuna melt in NJ many years. It was at the Rustic Mill Diner in Cranford, NJ. It wound up on the menu as the Happy Waitress Special and evolved to the tuna melt which can be found everywhere. Jim B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I loved it! The only change I made was one of necessity...Provolone slices instead of Swiss. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. The tuna itself was so good I'll never make tuna salad any other way. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This is a really good tuna salad recipe, I didn't make the melt sandwich yet. I love having another good recipe for tuna salad as an option. I don't think I would have thought to add the red wine vinegar on my own, but what a great addition. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This is one awesome tuna melt. My grandson gobbled it up, grandpa loved it too. This is going to become a regular at our house. We'll be trying the garlic addition and making a 1 1/2 recipe to make sure we have enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I used cheddar cheese & French bread because it's what I had available, & it was delicious!!! This will be one I make again & often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States