Best Tuna Melt (New Jersey Diner Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was amazingly delicious. I used Muenster cheese instead but OMG great, especially cause I used really red fresh tomatoes, etc. WOW. The only thing I disagree with in reviews in that NJ diners are the best. I say they are 2nd best...to New York diners. Growing up in Brooklyn, had tuna melts like this with french fries with brown gravy on the side...ohhhhhhh wowwwww. I am hungry, want another sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I never had a tuna melt before and always heard about them, i usually just make regular tuna sandwhiches toasted. This wasn't to far from the norm, but it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This was so easy to make, simple and very good! We had this for our lunch along with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Delicious!! I used pumpernickle instead of rye and added a touch of red pepper flakes to the tuna mix...yummy sandwich! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Really good! I was looking for a good tuna melt recipe. Found it!! YUMMILICOUS! Didn't change a thing...better the second time around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefintrainingturner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Made exactly as specified, only used wheat bread. Thanks to you, cookingirllj, what was going to be a boring tuna salad for lunch today turned out to be a crunchy, moist and flavor-packed treat. Hubby had never had tuna melt before, and this was a great first taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geezboyz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Definetly Delish! Preheating the oven is really important, otherwise cheese melts tuna stays cold. Also next time i think i will be sure and toast both sides of the bread. I did put cheese on bread then tuna then tomato then cheese. Had it with Baked Potatoe Soup, super filing for "Soup & Sand" dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Korenna Colquitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
So delicious! Believe it or not this was my first attempt at making a tuna melt [I'm a new cook :-)] and it was so easy! The key ingredient was the red wine vinegar, so yes, do not leave it out! I served this for my boyfriend with sweet potato fries, which we both agreed was a great accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Wow!!! I never thought of using red wine viniger for a tune salad - I'm SO hooked! This came out delicious, and I didn't even have the celery, and had to use dry parsley. My oven has a Hi and Lo broiler setting, I used the hi. Broiled the bread for one minute on each side as someone suggested, and did one slice with provolone and one with baby Swiss - the Swiss won hands down. On the hi broiler setting 3 minutes was the perfect time to cook this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Great meatless dinner item. Only things I did diff is I had some hamburger buns to use up and also realized I did not have red wine vinegar, so I used apple cider in its place. I toasted the buns in the toaster before I put the tuna, tomato and cheese on. I really am glad I did that because everything tasted as if it was grilled correctly and that way the top didn't get too brown waiting for the base to toast up. Next time I will try w/ the rye bread as I think that would be really good! Husband said to make these again! Really good recipe, glad someone pointed me in this direction. Had some leftover mac & cheese which is what we had with it for a good Friday Lenten dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris K in Wisconsin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sauk City, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States