Best Tuna Melt (New Jersey Diner Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I didn't have bread or tomato. I mixed it up and put it on Triscuits! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Joel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Mmm! I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand, so mine was made without celery, on sourdough, and with american "cheese" but it was SUPER yummy, easy, and totally hit the spot! Will make again for sure (hopefully with the actual ingredients)! I see this being my fall-back tuna melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krixee
Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
lovely recipe, I've had melt sandwiches before but never made one at home, this was a great one. I left off the tomato since I didn't have any and switched out the rye bread for a sandwich thin and swiss for provelone. nex time I'll definitely try adding some tomato since it sounds nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VILAINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Extremely tasty. Make sure that you toast both sides of the bread before adding the tuna, tomato, and cheese. Also, feel free to use any other cheese/bread. It will be delicious! Vinegar is a nice addition that I wasn't used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
super tastey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This is fantastic! I'm never eating regular tuna fish sandwiches again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This was okay, but I wouldn't make it again. Not the melt I was looking for. But the tuna salad was good by itself for just a plain sandwich on white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Struck with late night beer munchies, I surveyed the kitchen and thought a tuna melt sounded good- but mayhap, I thought, the interweb could show me something more exciting than the grilled cheese with tuna that I was contemplating. Which landed me here. I didn't have everything on hand to do the exact recipe- no tomato, winged it with Tillamook cheddar and a 12 grain bread- but it was really good and I look forward to doing it again with rye and swiss. There is an excellent depth of flavor with the vinegar and aromatics dancing around the hearty, earthy tuna/toast/cheese. More than the sum of its parts- really nice recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Loved the recipe! Very easy to make.. Love the use of vinegar- used rice vinegar... & low fat Swiss.. My son & boyfriend loved it.. My boyfriend was trying to guess the ingredients.. Will definitely make it again & again & again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Good tuna, although I did change the recipe a bit. I added eggs. Two of them to be exact. I did not use any celery. I did more of a traditional sandwich...no tomato or swiss cheese and I used whole wheat bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States