Best Tuna Melt (New Jersey Diner Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I have a special place in my heart for New Jersey-style tuna melt sandwiches. My husband, daughter and I really enjoyed this tuna melt! I just made this recipe this evening and the first bite immediately brought me back to my childhood in NJ! DELICIOUS! I will be making this again very soon! Also, I love the addition of vinegar, which I have never added to a classic tuna salad previously; I enjoyed the vinegar flavor so much I doubled its quantity in the recipe. Thank you CookinGirlLJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Love this ! Thank for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
My husband and I loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dylan
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Very tasty, will definitely be making these again. The wife really liked them and it is a fast and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Yep. Best tuna melt, ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Oak Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Loved it enjoyed as a latennight snack quick and simple. I didn't use rye bread I used wheat instead. Swiss cheese accompanied the red wihne vinegar knocks this tuna melt out the park. Great recipe for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
GREAT recipe! As others mentioned, this makes me re-think the idea of tuna sandwich the classic way (tuna, mayo, slice of american cheese). The vinegar is key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Wayne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hayley
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
As a poor college student exhausted after classes, this melt saved me from the imminent hunger that would have ensued. As I dragged myself into the kitchen, I started to reach for the old staple insta ramen. And then, I saw it: the huge can of tuna I had completely forgotten about for the past few weeks. But I didn't want just normal mayo-tuna infused slop on wet mushy bread. No, I was gonna fancy it up. This recipe made even a hopeless cook feel good, and the melt was fantastic. The red wine vinegar seriously makes the melt, and the Swiss cheese kinda cements it together in this gooey, crunchy, crispy combo that I absolutely adore. I'd give it more than just 5 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Made this for my boyfriend and he loves it! I used honey dijon mustard instead of mayonnaise and it turned out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This was really good but it was not that much better than regular tuna melts I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States