Best Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I made this recipe tonight with some modifications. With the small changes, it was fantastic! First I used bow tie pasta and added about 2 T. of chopped garlic to the water toward the end of the cooking time. I drained the pasta and garlic over the top of 2 cups of peas in a strainer. I added one soup can of milk to the base mixture and put the cheese in to blend. I then topped it with French's fried onions and some garlic salt with about a cup of shredded cheddar cheese. I used a lasagna pan and lightly covered the pan with some foil during the cooking time. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Scott-Clark
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
After reading reviews I took the advice of several and added an extra can of soup and some sour cream and it was very moist. I used a mini penne pasta instead of the noodles. I have a husband who will not eat peas or carrots so I substituted red and green peppers and I used fresh baby bella mushrooms. I used Cape Cod kettle potato chips and it was very good. It is a good recipe that can easily be 'tweeked' to suit anyone's personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Scott-Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
With the Arctic blast moving in I didn't want to go to the store for the mushroom soup so I improvised. You'll need 1.5 cups of milk and 1/2 cup of half and half, (if you don't have half and half use 2 cups milk) 1/2 cup chicken broth or 2 tsp. chicken base to 1/2 C water, 3 Tablespoons regular flour, 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme, 3 Tablespoons butter, 6 oz can of mushrooms (sliced), salt an pepper to taste. Combine butter and flour to make a roux, whisk into the chicken broth and milk mixture until all the lumps are gone. Slowly heat in adequate size saucepan by adding the remaining ingredients whisking as you go. Cook on med. heat, stirring as you cook until desired thickness. The rest of the above recipe I followed to the letter. *If the mixture is too thick add more milk or water. Too thin, add 1 Tablespoon flour to 1/4 C cool water, whisk and add to mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I usually don't write reviews about recipes but I felt this one merited one. With a few modifications, this recipe can be a real hit. Super easy to make. I took notes from other peoples suggestions and sauteed the onions in a little bit of butter, added some garlic to the onions and threw the peas in there so they would absorb some of the flavor. I also added about 1/2 cup of Miracle Whip to the recipe. This made a huge difference. I also added bread crumbs instead of potato chips. I didn't have to add milk to mine. If you add enough Miracle Whip, you will get the tangy flavor and it won't be dry My husband who is not crazy about Tuna, absolutely loved it and had thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Awesome I love this recipe it's super simple and easy! It's my go to when I have no time to cook for my family of 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
It was good. Family wasn't amazed, but I usually have all the ingredients on hand and will make this occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This recipe was excellent! I did have to improvise a bit. I didnt have any cream of anything so I used mayo, milk and mustard and added a bit of cranberry sauce for a sweetener. No egg noodles on hand so I used ramen noodles (4 packages fed my entire family). I substituted the tuna with canned anchovies and black olives that made it taste great. I added creamed corn just to make it juicier and some leftover ham salad that I had in the fridge. The entire family was presently surprised and they are begging me to make it again. I may add some mashed potatoes next time to give it some texture and more flavor. Thanks so much for the recipe!! It was a hit all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight, added a full bag of noodles, no chips and alittle paprika. We loved it! Made for 3 of us but we had tons of leftovers yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I was out of 1 can of cream of mushroom and substituted with cream of chicken, worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paris1982
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I used Hawaiian bbq chips, 8 oz. Of fresh sliced mushrooms I boiled with the noodles and Mexican cheese. It was great, and I had garlic bread with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States