Best Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This ended up being too dry. Needs more of a sauce instead of just condensed soup. Also, if you end up having leftovers the potato chips just turn into a soggy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I was looking for something that both my husband and kids would enjoy eating and came across this recipe. Since I hadn't made a tuna casserole in years, I thought I'd try it out. I didn't have cream of mushroom soup, so made a basic bechamel sauce (3T butter and 3T flour with about 2 cups of milk and some chicken stock that I had on hand to add flavoring). I increased the amount from the ~20oz of soup in the ingredients after reading several reviews recommending more liquid so that it doesn't bake too dry. Otherwise, I kept the recipe exactly as is. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This was an ok tuna casserole but nothing outstanding and or memorable for the effort.... It was good just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bleu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This is, in fact, the BEST tuna casserole I have tasted/made! I will say that I didn't have 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, so I substituted Fage nonfat greek yogurt for one of the cans of soup. It was GREAT, and I will make this recipe following that modification moving forward... lower sodium, less fat, great alternative. Thanks for posting such an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This was super quick, so that earns the 4 stars. I thought this recipe was okay, but not the one I was looking for. I have to admit that I had to make substitutions. Probably I should only rate what I actually follow! I put a bit less onion in it and I didn't use the mushrooms. And I had only one cup of the shredded cheddar so I added some American. My grandkids and husband liked it and I liked it too, but it wasn't our favorite. We did really like the topping -- so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Slater, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
DELICIOUS--with a few tweaks as suggested by other reviewers. I also usually just wing it when it comes to making this casserole but my husband and family have never been huge fans. I used 2 cans of cr. of mush soup, 1 can of milk, 1 full can of mushrooms pieces and stems so they were smaller pieces, I sautéed the onion in a little butter and dumped the whole thing in with the mixture. I went a little heavier on the peas because my family loves them. I also added both cups of cheese into the mixture (as was suggested) and used an entire sleeve of crushed Ritz crackers mixed into a 1/4 cup of melted butter over the top instead of the potato chips...my youngest loves Ritz crackers and it also gave the casserole just a small amount of sweetness that was delicious. I baked for almost 45 minutes to make sure it was cooked through and bubbly hot. My boys loved it and my husband ate so much he was uncomfortable afterwards. This is definitely a keeper and will be on our regular dinner rotation of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I added the large can of cream of mushroom soup with a can of milk....you have to. I have been making this for over 40 years and it gets better with age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
My husband and two year old love this dish, I make it once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I like many others am not a tuna casserole fan. Not until this recipe. I took advice from some of the other people who responded and sauteed the onion with garlic in butter , then substituted one of the cans of soup with cream of celery. Used canned mushrooms and added about 3/4 C of sour cream and the same amount of milk. I didn't have potato chips so instead I crumbled "Club" crackers on top and this was absolutely delicious. I reduced the temp to 375 because I omitted the peas and pre-cooked the onion. It was moist and the crackers gave it the right amount of crunch. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I followed the directions exactly and it came out very bland and super mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Easy Tuna Casserole

This incredibly simple tuna casserole uses just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States