Best Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Using AR since 7/2009 - husband rates recipes using the stars. If its scores 4 or 5 its a keeper less then 4 "lets not have it again". In five years time NEVER has he said "10 stars" --- this one got a 10!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reenie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I love this recipe. Simple yet hearty and a great comfort food! My family lives it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Craigo Phalen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I have been making tuna casserole for many years. This was the BEST recipe ever. Kudos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill & Glenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoutland, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I really liked this recipe - it makes for a great tuna noodle casserole. It's one of those "clean out the pantry" recipes where you can use what you have on hand. For instance, I used whole wheat egg noodles, 98% fat free mushroom soup, and a mixture of cheddar, colby jack and manchego cheeses because it's what was what I had. I also sauteed the mushrooms and onion in butter before adding them, and dropped the frozen peas in with the noodles at the very end before draining. As others also suggested, I used the empty mushroom soup can to measure out half a can sour cream and half a can milk, just to ensure it wasn't too dry (and it turned out perfectly). I, too, just mixed in all of the cheeses, added some cracked black pepper and a dash of salt, and topped the casserole with buttered bread crumbs, as I didn't have potato chips. Saved and will use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODFAVOR8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I've made tuna casserole a million times but LOVED this recipe the most. What makes it is the potato chips. I was pleasantly surprised on how much I enjoyed them. Previously I only used bread crumbs. My alterations: - I accidently bought 1 cream of mush and 1 cream of chicken. I decided to go with it, and it was AWESOME. - Used less cheese on top - Accidently used the whole package of noodles so I just added a bit more milk, onion, 1 extra can of tuna, and peas to make sure it covered nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I had a very similar recipe from a 1950's cook book, that I have not been able to find, so I was happy to find this one. This is a good stick to your bones casserole, & great for folks on a budget. I took advice from other reviews and used 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup milk. I also mixed the 2 cups of cheese into the casserole. Next time I may go with just 1 cup of cheese, because it was still a little on the dry side. Paprika sprinkled on top and mixed in may give it a nice kick. Overall, a very good recipe, I will definitely make this one again, I really enjoyed it, thanks for posting. Taking leftovers for lunch tomorrow :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
this was very good. will make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I just made this for my family and our two friends. there were six of us and I was afraid there wouldnt be enough but there is plenty! I added more cheese than it called for and filled half of a can of the cream of mushroom with milk and added it to it. Everyone really liked it! Oh I also used the tuna in the pouches so it wouldnt have that metallic taste. The potato chips were an awesome addition. It wasnt dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole Scharnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Good base recipe! I left out the mushrooms (family doesn't like them) and I used my homemade cream of soup mixture in place of the 2 cans cream of mushroom soup. I also cut the tuna down to only 1 can, that was plenty for me. Chicken substituted instead of tuna works really well, too. I have made this recipe so many times, it is a family favorite for sure! I forgot the potato chips the last time I made it and it was still good - and I guess I saved a few calories in the process :) One other thing I do is, during the last minute of cooking the noodles, I add in the frozen peas to the pot to cook them a bit. Before doing this, my daughter always complained of the icky texture of the peas and this seemed to solve the problem - it is now one of her favorite meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was delicious. The recipe makes a rather enormous casserole, so make sure there are plenty to partake! I didn't have any potato chips, so I covered the top with Original GoldFish Crackers. How cute is that for a tuna casserole? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States