Best Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Flavors were very good. I used a shallot as i didnt have much onion. I found the dish too dry. Would add some milk or half and half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
My first time making and trying tuna casserole - it was very good! My husband liked it as well. I added more onion and sauteed till almost caramelized before adding to the mixture. I also used fresh mushrooms vs canned and left out the peas since neither my husband nor I like them. Per other's suggestions I added at least a cup of sour cream and also added a dash of Worcestershire Sauce and Thyme. I combined everything in a warm pan before placing in the baking dish. I used French's onions instead of chips, which were really good but imagine the chips would give it a nice crunch as well. Make sure and wait and put French's Onions on top at very end of baking, I put on for the full 15 - 20 min and they got a little too brown. I will definitely start making this on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This was amazing!!!! I loved it, and super quick and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I've made this recipe a few times and after preparing it exactly as the recipe instructed the first time have made 4 changes. The first is I cook the onions for about 3-4 minutes before adding them to the casserole, the second I add 3 cans of cream of mushroom soup, the third is I use spicy bread crumbs instead of the potato chips, and the fourth is I don't drain the tuna to add a little liquid to the casserole. My sixteen year old hates any kind of fish but will actually eat this. I would have given this recipe five stars but if prepared exactly as instructed its far too dry and too salty with the potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Subbed green beans instead of the peas, and cracker crumbs with butter for the potato chips, based on ingredient availability. This was a hit with my eight-year-old, who announced before dinner that she 'didn't think she was a casserole type of person.' Excellent base for all sorts of delicious variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I made this recipe with alterations. I used two 12 ounce cans of tuna. I did not think 6 ounces was enough. I used 3 cans of soup and a cup of milk. I read reviews about adding the cheese to the casserole. I used crushed chips on 3/4 of the casserole and left the other 1/4 without. I personally like it without better. I also used one can of Lesuer english peas instead of frozen. It was a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I made this last night for dinner. As recommended I added an extra half can of soup (used celery) and combined all the cheese at once rather than adding a cup to the top. I also added some cream and milk to ensure the casserole wasn't too dry. It was tasty. A good Friday night meal. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Great just the way it is! I think people are forgetting to add the 2 cans of milk to go with the soup! I also used a whole bag of noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I made some changes to this recipe, I added a cup of 2% milk, no onions (forgot) and used the water from the tuna cans. I also added one can of cheese soup. It tasted amazing! However the cup of milk made it too watery so it's more like a soup instead of a casserole. I'll try less milk next time but this recipe is definitely delicious :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This recipe turned out really good with a little tweaking. Instead of white or yellow onion I used 3/4 cup green onion, fresh sliced mushroom sauteed in 1 tbsp butter until golden brown, added one soup can milk and 3/4 cup starched water from the cooked noodles, 2 tsp Lawry's garlic salt, and 1/2 tsp pepper. It came out with a very nice wet to dry ratio and wonderful flavor. My son said "I wish I could come home to this every day."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States