Best Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Like everyone else, I needed a base recipe upon which to make my own changes. I add 1 C of sour cream, corn and black beans (along with peas), omit the onion and mushrooms (we don't like them) and add garlic and onion powder, cayenne, Johnny's and a diced jalapeno (we like it spicy!). Then for the top, I crumble Tims Jalapeno chips. YUMMYYYYY!!!!! I never liked tuna casserole in the past but this is one of my all time favorites now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
This casserole was good but I prefer something creamier so I usually make a sauce instead of canned soup - which I tried out as I was pressed for time! I sauteed the onions in a pan first before adding to the dish which was a nice subtle sweetness, and bypassed the crunchiness. I also used panko crumbs instead of chips which was still a nice topping and used cheese only in the mix and not on top. All in all, really quick and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I have also used this for chicken casserole with cream of chicken soup. Potato chips are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Flavors were very good. I used a shallot as i didnt have much onion. I found the dish too dry. Would add some milk or half and half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
My first time making and trying tuna casserole - it was very good! My husband liked it as well. I added more onion and sauteed till almost caramelized before adding to the mixture. I also used fresh mushrooms vs canned and left out the peas since neither my husband nor I like them. Per other's suggestions I added at least a cup of sour cream and also added a dash of Worcestershire Sauce and Thyme. I combined everything in a warm pan before placing in the baking dish. I used French's onions instead of chips, which were really good but imagine the chips would give it a nice crunch as well. Make sure and wait and put French's Onions on top at very end of baking, I put on for the full 15 - 20 min and they got a little too brown. I will definitely start making this on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This was amazing!!!! I loved it, and super quick and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I've made this recipe a few times and after preparing it exactly as the recipe instructed the first time have made 4 changes. The first is I cook the onions for about 3-4 minutes before adding them to the casserole, the second I add 3 cans of cream of mushroom soup, the third is I use spicy bread crumbs instead of the potato chips, and the fourth is I don't drain the tuna to add a little liquid to the casserole. My sixteen year old hates any kind of fish but will actually eat this. I would have given this recipe five stars but if prepared exactly as instructed its far too dry and too salty with the potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Subbed green beans instead of the peas, and cracker crumbs with butter for the potato chips, based on ingredient availability. This was a hit with my eight-year-old, who announced before dinner that she 'didn't think she was a casserole type of person.' Excellent base for all sorts of delicious variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I made this recipe with alterations. I used two 12 ounce cans of tuna. I did not think 6 ounces was enough. I used 3 cans of soup and a cup of milk. I read reviews about adding the cheese to the casserole. I used crushed chips on 3/4 of the casserole and left the other 1/4 without. I personally like it without better. I also used one can of Lesuer english peas instead of frozen. It was a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I made this last night for dinner. As recommended I added an extra half can of soup (used celery) and combined all the cheese at once rather than adding a cup to the top. I also added some cream and milk to ensure the casserole wasn't too dry. It was tasty. A good Friday night meal. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States