Best Tomato Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I made this for my father, who is a total tomato lover. He absolutely loved it. I even saw him going back for thirds! I tried it myself, not being a huge tomato fan and even I liked it. I think I'll be making this quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This is my "mema's" recipe and we just LOVE it! She also told us that if tomato puree is not available we can: OMITT WATER and use three 8 oz cans tomato sauce OR Use the Original ½ cup water plus an additional 6 oz. water, one 6 oz. can tomato paste and one 8 oz can tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Outstanding recipe! I cannot say enough good things about this recipe. It was easy to prepare and tastes great. What else would you want? I used a can of diced tomatoes and thought it was just fine instead of using the tomato puree. Served with Pork Chops with Jalapeno Jelly, Lemon Pepper Zucchini and Pride Cabernet Franc. Yummy meal. Plan to serve again at a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Hey Randi-this is the best! We expect to have it every year!lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I heard about a tomato pudding on NPR of all places and searched for a recipe. Glad I found this one. Just served it tonight for Christmas Eve dinner. All 10 adults there scarfed it down. It's easy. It's tasty. It's different. Followed the recipe exactly (well 11 slices of bread instead of 10) and it was lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
My fiance, who is Japanese, had never heard of a savory pudding and was very skeptical to try this. His ultimate response? "Can you make this again tomorrow?" So yummy! I made topped it with pieces of parmesan chicken and served with a salad for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
i love tomatoes and this recipe was just wayyyyy to sweet. I followed the directions exactly and was verryyy disappointed with the results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This is not a good recipe. There is not enough liquid to properly moisten the bread although I only used nine slices, not ten. There's just too much bread. Also, the oven temperature is too high and the baking time is too long. What I ended up with was dried out and burned bread cubes and a truly inedible casserole. Just for the record, my stove is relatively new and is properly calibrated. I urge you to find another tomato pudding to try and, when you do, let me know. AK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States