Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This is the best recipe for Toffee I have ever tasted. I am a huge fan of English toffee and every other type there is...except bad toffee! The recipe is perfect and yes, you do need a candy/frying thermometer. Those who complain their butter did not incorporate must have been knitting while cooking this recipe. It must be stirred all the way through and the spoon does not have to be oiled or wooden. As a matter of fact the toffee will slide right off any utensil you use because of the high butter content. I will make one slight change for my next batch, however, and that is to cook the toffee only until the soft crack stage or slightly above. I like to chew my toffee (Like a heath bar) and you cannot chew this easily. Also I toast my ALMONDS for 10 minutes in a preheated 350 degree oven before using them. Spread the almonds on the bottom of a cookie sheet and when the toffee mixture is ready, pour it over the almonds so the candy will have nuts inside and out. I also make my own chocolate from scratch and spread that over the top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kuklapolitan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middletown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
OMG, This is the Best Toffee! Took me 2 attempts due to my impatience but the end result was well worth it. You MUST have ready 1)Pan-I used a jelly roll pan with parchment paper, no greasing needed. 2)Almonds-I lightly roasted 1 cup of slivered almonds. I then lightly chopped 1/2 the almonds & finely chopped the other 1/2. 3)use either mini choc chips or chop them in food processor. I used the slow & steady aproach but was impatient the 1st time around & after about 25 min I turned the burner up a bit. The toffee actually smelled burnt before it browned and at that point the pot & the toffee were to hot to stop it from burning. My 2nd attempt, I stirred regularly but not constantly over a medium heat for about 35 minutes. Let it come to a steady, NOT rolling boil, over medium-low heat. I did have a new thermometer which gave me an idea of when it was getting close but on the 2nd batch which turned out perfect I used a cup of ice water & dropped some in until it was perfectly brittle. It will be a medium orange-brown and quite bubbly. As soon as it was brittle I quickly poured it onto the pan. I quickly sprinkled the larger almonds into the toffee, tilted the pan to spread the toffee & then sprinkled the choc chips on top. As the chocolate melted, I gently spread it evenly & I sprinkled the finely chopped nuts on top & placed it in the fridge. Once the chocolate was set, I cut it w/large butcher knife to get nice looking peices. It was beautiful and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Well, our first attempt SUCKED!!! It separated, burned, and smoked! But we are at 6,800 ft elevation and are using Propane to cook with! We did not take these factors into account when we tried it the first time. Propane seems to burn hotter then natural gas. Our second try was much better! Here is what we did different: --I softened the butter in the microwave for 30 seconds. --Added the sugar, salt and 1 tsp vanilla before turning on the flame. --Once I saw the butter starting to melt, I started to whisk it continuously until it was combined and starting to bubble. --We used a medium/low heat to start with and lowered it to low to allow it to come up to temperature SLOWLY! --We heated it to 300F and followed the rest of the recipe (chocolate & nuts) --We took it outside and placed the pan in the snow, cooling it quickly. RESULTS? PRETTY GOOD! Still not perfect but we will attempt it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
These were yummy! I added a little extra sea salt because I love salty & sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
So easy and so good. My mother in law came over for Christmas dinner and couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Barnesville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Made it twice in two weeks love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I just got done making this receipe for the first time. I used a 4 quart non stick pot using medium heat and stirring SLOWLY and constantly using a non-slotted wooden spoon. Just like my mother taught me years ago. No butter separation. I cooked the toffee to 290 F, it will be a little soft but I plan on giving it to my children whose chewing muscles might not be up to the task of a hard candy. I simply followed the directions for the choclate, spreading with the back of the same spoon I used to stir the toffee. The combined heat melted the morsels very nicely and the layering turned out great. I am using silivered almods, non-toasted this time. Usually I like toasted nuts, but we will see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made this for Christmas gifts and it was a huge hit! People are still talking about it. Keeping this recipe forever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paige
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
giving this 5 stars as this was very simple and it came out perfect! I've made toffee 2x's and both times used this recipe to the T and both times came out perfect! Thank you for posting this!!! LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige
Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 822) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States