Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Nick Marion
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This recipe worked the first time I tried it I poured the toffe mixture on the nuts and the chips on the warm toffe mixture. The toffe came out not as hard as I thought it would. It still had a nice crunch without being a brick like other recipes I've tried I will do this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
My first time making Toffee and it came out perfect! I can hardly believe I did it. I discovered that my candy thermometer has little hint settings on it, my toffee was cooked exactly when it said "soft crack (which by the way was at the temp specified in the recipe). I did the ice water test a few times on the way, noticing how it was a bit harder but still soft along the way, I knew it was getting there, when it was ready I Knew it using the ice water test. I did stand over it for the 15 minutes or whatever time it took noticing it getting darker and stirring, keeping watch over the thermometer. I used a tad over medium heat to cook it on my electric stovetop. I am so pleased with the result I can't wait to give it away. (I gave some to my son and his girlfriend as they stopped over and they loved it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Excellent. If you don't have a candy thermometer like I didn't have, cook till amber brown as it says and drop some in cold water... if is brittle and breaks it is done. I used chopped pecans. LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ScallyW
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Tried this for the first time ever tonight and was impressed by how easy it was. I made mine in a small bake tray so that it would be thicker. Didn't have a sugar thermometer as recommended by so many recipes so I played it by ear
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I have just made my fifth batch since Thanksgiving. Here is my two cents worth! I have found that my best bet is to make it in my heavy enamel coated 6 quart stock pot. I don't go past medium heat. Early on I stir occasionally, but once it hits about 240 I stir it almost constantly until it reaches 300°. I think it has more of a toffee flavor and a nice crisp consistency if you take it to 300°. At that point I stir in one fourth teaspoon of fresh baking soda and a quarter cup of finely chopped roasted almonds. Now we are NOT dark chocolate people around here -- strictly milk chocolate, and to me, dark chocolate overwhelms the flavor of the toffee. I use Merckens milk chocolate discs from our local cake supply store. I find it to have the best complementary flavor and hardens nicely so that it does not require refrigeration after having set up. I spread those on and once they've melted, top with more chopped roasted almonds. Go get a Heath bar and try it side-by-side with this! Heath has nothing on us, girls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Very easy to make and taste's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I just tried this recipe for the first time. the only thing I done differently was to add a 1/2 tsp pure vanilla after taking it off the stove. So delicious. Super easy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Great recipe, easy to make. The most critical variable is temperature. I agree that going above 285 degrees results in "tighter" toffee. I liked 295 better for nice hard crack crunch. Also, adding a touch more salt brought out the flavor, esp sea salt. I had a combo of almonds and walnuts and toasted them, for the win. This recipes scales up beautifully. I multiplied it by six and it was perfect, plus little extra effort for the giant batch. Lastly, when you cut up the pieces, you get a bunch of "cruft," which makes exquisite ice cream topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
AWESOME ! So good. I was always afraid to try toffee but this was so easy and turned out so good. Definitely will be making this every year now for my Christmas plate of goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I have made this recipe dozens of times with both success and failure. My best suggestion is to start with room temperature butter and mix with the sugar before turning on the heat. Then, continuously stir while melting the butter. This prevents the butter separation that happens easily. I don't bother with a thermometer any more. I just aim for the correct color - the same as store bought toffee candy. If you use mini chocolate chips, it makes more divots in the toffee and it tends to stick better. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 874) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States