Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
So easy and so good. Made it just like the recipe but I cooked it to around 300 instead of 285. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I loved this. It was really easy to make, even though I didn't have a candy thermometer. I just timed it for about 20 minutes after the butter was melted. Stirred just occasionally. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I just made this for a holiday treat and it turned out terrific. It tastes great! I will be making more in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This is soft, bland and I knew before even trying that 285 was not hot enough so went to 300 but it still did not harden the way a toffee is supposed to. Soft enough to cut with a knife. Will be using my old tried and true recipe from here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Disappointed. This toffee did not harden. It had the consistency of caramel. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This was my first time making toffee. I cut the recipe in half as I wanted to see how well it came out. The only change I made was adding 1/4 cup water with the butter and sugar. I let it cook on a low-medium heat for about 30 minutes. I stirred til the ingredients came to a boil, then stirred occasionally til it registered 275 on the thermometer. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I have made this 3 times. Going by the recipe as well as suggestions other cooks on this site used. No matter what there is some butter separation.Very frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Tasty and very easy. Boil and stir until it reaches 300 degrees to make it more breakable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Oops: I forgot to mention that when I make this (as I have for 40 years) the recipe calls for 3 TBS water. I've never used a candy thermometer, just cook about 15 minutes till the right color - and it has never separated. I spread it as thinly as possible on a greased cookie sheet. Then I pop it in the refrigerator for a few minutes. Sometimes I sprinkle nuts on the melted chocolate - other times not. Spreading it thinly on the cookie sheet makes very thin delicate pieces - and everyone loves to receive it. And eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 822) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States