Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I have made this recipe at least a dozen times. Every time I get rave reviews and everyone always requests that I make it for Christmas. It is SO good! Much better than most of the stuff you buy at the store, and that's saying a LOT because I LOVE toffee! I do have a couple of suggestions. I cut the butter in half to 1 cup and it is plenty! When I have made it with 2 cups, it was way too buttery! Then you also don't have to worry about separation. Half the butter gives it all the flavor with half the fat! Awesome! I'll take it! Make sure that it turns to a deep amber color before you pull it off the heat too or will be very sticky, almost like caramel, instead of crunchy. My sister made this mistake when she made it because she didn't have a thermometer. I don't actually use a thermometer anymore myself (I did the first couple of times), but I find that if you wait longer it comes out with more flavor and more crunch. So I would agree that you should cook it to closer to 300* instead of 285*. I also like to put the almonds in the toffee because I think it gives them better flavor. I've tried them on top and didn't care for it. I stir the almonds in when the toffee is almost done, probably about a minute left. Then I proceed to melt the chocolate on the top as directed. SO delicious!! We've also tried it with a little sea salt on top. This is a recipe I will be using for a long time. Thank you FUNKYSEAMONKEY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This was excellent! Made exactly to the recipe and it turned out perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Both ways are delicious. I made the original version and then gave into peer "review" pressure and cooked it to 300 and stirred constantly. Both batches are the same, simply delicious. Not sure what kind of butter people used but mine didn't separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Best Toffee Ever! I use this recipe for great gifts in the holidays. I use pecans instead of almonds. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Kerr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Soooooo easy and sooooo good! The oil in the butter separated a little, but I just whisked it real good before pouring and it was still separated but turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I have been making this recipe for years, every xmas.! Every year i get requests for the recipe.It is VERY weather sensitive! I honestly have had the butter separate on me a couple of times, but all in all it is an excellent recipe. I can only recommend to choose a dry day, use a wooden spoon, and stop stirring constantly after the butter & sugar is melted. It is a rich buttery toffee that melts in your mouth. It will remain my "go to" toffee recipe! Would actually rate it 4.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
My go to recipe for perfect toffee. Be sure to cook it on med high temp until you get that rich toffee color you want! I find that I get the crackle stage but the color is too light so I just cook it longer and it gets that deep brown, so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Made this exactly turned out exactly as described and was bangin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
My husband doesn't like a lot of sweets, but he does like Heath bars. I made this for his birthday 2013, then by request made it for Christmas in 2013 and a Super Bowl party, 2014. This recipe is now a family favorite. Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Chamb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I like to half this recipe, but its still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 848) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States