Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I have been making Toffee for Christmas give-away's for YEARS! MOST important- you MUST use butter. At first you may want to use half of this recipe. Never use more than the 2 cups of butter/sugar. It just doesn't work. People who get separation are probably using margarine. My twist - I chop walnuts and put them on the baking sheet. About 1 1/2 cups scattered around so the sheet is covered but there are openings in between. As your butter/sugar mixture comes to temp, (do not stop stiring), you will see a VERY slight smoke. DRIZZLE immediatley over nuts. Then top with choc. chips. Wait a minute or two, then spread the chocolate with the back of a spoon. This will give you pretty swirls. Sometimes I will sprinkle a few chopped nuts ontop. After cool break into pieces. If you used alot of nuts, you may have to cut into pieces. If you spread the nuts a bit thinner, you can poke the toffee with the tip of a sharp knife. It will break into nice irregular pieces. This is just the best stuff! And now all my friends expect it every year. Start your own tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rochelle
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Oh my Gosh! I made this for Thanksgiving today... what a great recipe! I used macadamia nuts instead of almonds in honor of my Hawaiian friends. Mahalo! (Hawaiian for Thank You!) I followed the recipe to the letter, but I stirred constantly. Thanks for a wonderful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made this for a family Thanksgiving meal. I made it just as the recipe said to & everybody loved it. Oh also, I knew that there is noway you can cook it without stirring constantly. I am going to make it again for another Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
My go-to recipe, stirring in 1 tsp. vanilla before pouring. >Always use a flame tamer under the saucepan, cook with patience on medium flame til 250F, then full blast and push toffee to 300F, pouring immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whataFRUIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is excellant toffee! My stove top cooks hot so I had to reduce the flame more to low once it boiled to allow it to cook properly and had no problems. The first batch was eaten so quick I had to make another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
My first time ever making toffee and it came out perfectly!!! I used salted butter and heavy-bottomed sauce pan.. I stirred constantly until the butter melted and then stirred only occasionally with the heat on medium. My butter did not separate at all using this method!! After reading the other reviews, I heated the mixture to just under 300 degrees and then poured it immediately onto a parchment-lined sheet pan and quickly spread it with an offset spatula. I then sprinkled on the chocolate chips and waited a couple of minutes until they melted enough to spread, just as the instructions indicated. Absolutely delicious!!! Thanks for the great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I made the toffee as a take home gift bag for a wedding. I doubled the recipe, then made it x3. Enough for (I hope) 150 cello gift bags, to be tied with ribbon, sealed with an initialed sticker. The first batch I made was trial & error, following the recipe, using a candy thermometer. It took forever To get the mixture up to temp & it was still on the light side. What I realized is that I was not aggressive enough with the heat. So here's what I did... I used my Le Creuset Soup Pot. Melted the butter. Added the sugar. Using a wire whisk, stir, stir, stir over medium high heat keep stirring! It will look like molten lava with huge bubbles after a few minutes. Now you can remove the whisk, stir just once in a while as the color begins to happen. Fold up from the bottom. Watch the heat. You may need to turn it down. It will turn brownish quickly now! Don't burn it! You are looking for the color of a brown paper bag. Now check it with candy thermometer. 290 is great. Pour onto foil lined half sheet pan that has been lightly sprayed with Pam & sprinkled with finely diced almond. I used sliced almonds that I processed & pulsed in Cuisinart to a fine dice. I used a 17.5 oz milk chocolate bar melted the microwave in a Pyrex cup 1 min., stir, 30 stir. Pour or drizzle on cooled toffee. Sprinkle with more almonds. Allow to dry. Store in airtight container. Keeps for a few weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Okay... WAY too much butter for the sugar ratio - I wound up pouring off a ton of it. I followed the suggestion to cook to hard crack (300F) and I'm glad I did! Next time I'm going to try the Joy of Baking's ratio of 1.5c butter : 2c sugar and see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummySmells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Such an amazing in-expensive way to have such a great treat. I added a tiny bit more suger and some golden syrup. Made it for my partners birthday party Note to self though don't try dip your finger in to see what it tastes like even if you think its cooled down enough as you will end up with a nasty burn blister ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 824) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States