Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was so easy and so fabulous. I do a lot of baking and such, and I think this toffee is the absolute best thing I've ever made. It is fantastic. I had no issue with seperation, and rather than put foil or parchment down, I buttered a cookie sheet. It was perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
this is a super easy recipe!! would have given it 10 stars if i could have, 1st time making toffee and it turned out just like it should have!! if you love toffee, you have to try this recipe, so easy & so worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shannon
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Perfect recipe...i sell this for double what it costs to make it, if not more. Ive made this about 20 times already in double batches. i just add 3 drops of vanilla and stir pretty constantly, its ok to walk away for a minute,but no more. get creative, i use slivered almonds mostly, whole on the bottom and broken up ones for the top. MAKE THIS TOFFEE! easy and perfect, just need a candy thermometer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This toffee turned out Sooo good!! My family thought it was store bought. While making it, it took a little longer than I thought it would but overall it was an easy recipe to follow. I opted to use Ghiradelli's semi sweet chocolates and I believe it definitely took it up a notch! I think next time I may try adding some vanilla extract to see if that adds more umph. Also, this recipe makes quite a bit of toffee, so I decided to wrap it up in cute baggies and give them out for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This was the first time I've attempted toffee. I admit I did not use a candy thermometer, but just cooked until a dark amber color. Otherwise,I followed the recipe as written. We loved it. It was a tiny bit bitter, but next time I'll cook it for a shorter time and use a heavier pan as others have suggested. This is the perfect toffee texture. Yum.....my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Made this as written and the butter pooled on the top... still tasted great though. Made the next batch but stirred it the entire time and the butter did not pool at all. Yes! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I have made this recipe for Christmas gifts for a few years now, it is always the hit. Definitely use a sturdy saucepan, stir constantly until it boils, then don't stir at all until it reaches the proper temp - then give it a good stir and transfer to pan. Yum yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This was my first go at toffee making and I am now on my third batch! I followed the recipe as written with just the addition of a little vanilla extract. I followed all the tips e.g. used my le crueset pot, stirred constantly to a slow, low boil, then stirred frequently but not constantly to the temperature listed (just below 300, after checking my candy thermometer in boiling water). I couldn't be more pleased with the product. I like a thinner toffee, so I spread it out on a cookie sheet. Perfecto! Thanks for this! To the one who posted that this is more of a praline, it isn't. You just didn't let it reach the desired temperature. This does take patience but it is oh so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
My first try and SUCCESS! I have made this many years ago so I wasn't sure how it would turn out. I don't even use a candy thermometer but rather go by the color and smell (as well as cold water drop to test for crunchiness). I put chopped almonds (raw) on bottom first. The toffee toastes the almonds for you and the thickness is perfect. I cook it a bit longer to get a true brittle consistency, not soft ball stage, it turns out crunchier... personal preference. It's easy to burn so watch it carefully while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I made this recipe with a friend this weekend and it couldn't have worked out better! It's absolutely delicious and tastes just like a Skor bar. It's so easy, too. We didn't have a candy thermometer, but we stirred the butter and sugar mixture constantly until it turned a dark amber colour - which takes quite awhile. Stirring constantly helps because the butter starts to separate. After it was finished boiling, we poured it into the pan. TIP: dab off the excess butter that pools in the pan with paper towel. We also found that the chocolate chips weren't melting quick enough on top, so we popped the whole pan into the oven for a few minutes at 170 degrees. Finally, we topped it with crushed pecans and almonds. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 816) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States