Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This toffee is incredible. I first tried this recipe at my sister-in-law's and have loved the results ever since. I made a very small batch for our family movie night this evening. It took a grand total of 10 minutes! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
I didn't use almonds, and I didn't cook this to the full temperature, instead I cooked it to just beyond the hard ball stage, stirred it while it cooled for a couple minutes, then poured it all over fresh air-popped popcorn, then stirred it around the best I could. It's delicious! It maybe wasn't as sweet as chocolate covered toffee, but was MUCH more filling. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
hmmmm. . . i don't know about this recipe. for one, half of the butter separated from the sugar. i had to pour it off at the end! the toffee itself tastes slightly bitter or burnt, although that could be my fault, and with the chocolate it's not as noticable. the toffee has a strange texture that dissolves while chewing. maybe it would be helpful if the recipe was more specific about stirring? i wish toffee was this easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
Very easy to make, turns out just like a candy bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
Sorry.....I forgot to put stir CONSTANTLY not occassionally. I prefer mine with pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
This is an absolutely wonderful recipe! I made a different recipe first made with brown sugar; it turned out kind of grainy and tasted a little burned. This recipe was smooth, creamy ,exactly how I expected toffee to taste. It really tastes like a Heath Bar! Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
I made this exactly according to the recipe. It turned out wonderfully! I think that I'll leave the almonds out or reduce the amount next time though, as I think they masked the deliciously buttery taste of the toffee. Thanks FunkySeaMonkey for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I used grated hershey milk chocholate bar instead of semisweet chips (grating it in my cuisinart). I also put chocholate/nuts on both sides. If you want to do both sides, put a little butter on the tin foil baking sheet before pouring the mixture on to it. After you've done one side, place another sheet of tin foil over it and flip it over. Do the other side while it is still warm. This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
This was a very good, very easy recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
This was SOOO good! I did what one of the people down below said to do and coated both sides with the chocolate and nuts. I also did what the author of the recipe does and used pecans... not because I like them better.. it was just the only nut in the house... but anyways. The taste was wonderful the crunch was perfect. I added a little bit of the nuts into the toffee.. it tasted just like See's candy... if not better! THANKS SO MUCH FOR THIS RECIPE! VERY EASY AND VERY VERY VERY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 848) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States