Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made this for Christmas gifts and it was a huge hit! People are still talking about it. Keeping this recipe forever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paige
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
giving this 5 stars as this was very simple and it came out perfect! I've made toffee 2x's and both times used this recipe to the T and both times came out perfect! Thank you for posting this!!! LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige
Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Very good. I wish the chocolate had melted a little more, but that's probably my own issue, not the recipe's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Yum! This got rave reviews. I opted to make it thinner, but more brittle (cooked it until it was quite dark brown), added vanilla extract and a little extra salt, pretoasted the almonds, and also put almonds into the pan so the almonds were both 1) in the toffee and 2) on top of the chocolate. The tips I got from other reviews that helped a lot: Heat on medium heat only, err on side of cooking too slowly. Should take 20 mins to get to 285 degrees (for softer toffee, or 300-310 for harder toffee), otherwise you are going too fast. Heating slowly also will help you avoid having the butter separate from the sugar (which several other reviewers said they had problems with). Drop toffee into ice water to test if it's ready, should be brittle. Use heavy bottomed pan. Stir only occasionally. Use wooden spoon for even heating. Chilling should take 45-60 mins. If necessary, pour/wipe off extra oil off before adding chocolate to help it stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
My first time making anything like this - it was awesome! Everyone was impressed. I read many many reviews and followed the directions. My butter did separate a bit but it didn't affect the outcome at all. When I poured the toffee onto my pan, the oil ran off to the side and got left behind when it cooled and I picked it up to break it apart. Also, I had no thermometer but after about 20 minutes I dripped a bit into cold water and then fished it out with a spoon and ate it, it was crunchy and melted in my mouth. Doesn't even stick to your teeth, just melts. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I am a very experienced cook and this recipe is my Achilles heel. It has taken me as many as 5 tries before it works, although when it does, it's amazing. The only problem is that although I try all the tips in the reviews, I end up with a gritty mess that seperates at the end of the cooking process. My new thought is that I am letting it boil too hard. So, I'll probably give it one more shot because this holiday season, I've wasted 4 lbs of butter and 8 cups of sugar but I'm determined to serve this along side my New Year's eve feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellyn Oaksmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Made this for Christmas and it turned out great! we used pecans instead of almonds and my mom wanted the nuts in with the toffee instead of on top of the chocolate so we just put the nuts on the parchment paper then poured the toffee on top of them. YUMMY this one has been added to my Christms candy that I make every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Really good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Super Easy - just like the recipe says. I made this to give away as gifts to neighbours. I tested this out on my family and I'm finding that my supply stashed in the back of the fridge is dwindling fast! I stirred constantly and did not have any issues with butter pooling on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Looking through the reviews, I can't believe people had a problem with this! I've made this recipe for the past 3 years, without a candy thermometer, and I've never had a problem with it. I judge it based on the colour of the toffee as it's boiling. With that being said, this is amazing! Everyone always loves it, and it's always a hit at potlucks. I've made a video of me making it for this Christmas: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HUPhej9mWew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 824) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States