Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This recipe made great toffee. I cut the recipe in half and added 1/4tsp of vanilla extract. I also didn't use any toppings. My only complaint is that it is a little bit too sweet on its own, so it really needs a topping. I noticed a lot of 1- and 2-star ratings on here. Most of the complaints are for it separating or being white and chewy. If its white and chewy, you haven't cooked it long enough. Don't bother with a candy thermometer (I didn't use one), but pay attention to it and turn the heat off when it reaches the color of normal toffee. Also, when you do turn it off, mix it up really well to incorporate the butter and sugar and you shouldn't experience any problems with separation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Made 1/2 the recipe and used a 9x13 pan. PERFECTION. The texture was even better the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I just made this and am waiting for it to cool. Looks delicious. Based on that and the little bits i tasted, i give this recipe a 5 star. I didn't have almonds so i used walnuts. Ill update my review after the toffee cools. Can't wait!***UPDATE*** i just tasted the finished toffee, and can i just say that it is absolutely AMAZING! It exceeded all my expectations. Way better than almond roca, because it is homemade. thank you for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This was super easy and super good! Everyone loved it and I was so proud I was able to make it without a candy thermometer. This may become an annual thing for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I am changing the name to this to "Crack"! It turned out so good that I can't get my mind off of it! I cut the recipe in half because I have had trouble in the past getting the mixture to the right temp. This came out perfect!! Hope I don't eat it all before I can share with my work peeps!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONIJO77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
A truly decadent yet EASY toffee! My married daughters and their families look forward to a batch tucked into their Christmas and Easter goodie baskets each and every year! I have noticed that to get a nice amber color I have to start it off hotter than I originally thought and once the temp reaches around 290-295 the color is PERFECT! Easy gift to make that EVERYONE, old and young alike appreciate!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This one is nice because it is versatile. If you want to add nuts, add nuts! If you don't, don't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This is the best recipe for Toffee I have ever tasted. I am a huge fan of English toffee and every other type there is...except bad toffee! The recipe is perfect and yes, you do need a candy/frying thermometer. Those who complain their butter did not incorporate must have been knitting while cooking this recipe. It must be stirred all the way through and the spoon does not have to be oiled or wooden. As a matter of fact the toffee will slide right off any utensil you use because of the high butter content. I will make one slight change for my next batch, however, and that is to cook the toffee only until the soft crack stage or slightly above. I like to chew my toffee (Like a heath bar) and you cannot chew this easily. Also I toast my ALMONDS for 10 minutes in a preheated 350 degree oven before using them. Spread the almonds on the bottom of a cookie sheet and when the toffee mixture is ready, pour it over the almonds so the candy will have nuts inside and out. I also make my own chocolate from scratch and spread that over the top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kuklapolitan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middletown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
OMG, This is the Best Toffee! Took me 2 attempts due to my impatience but the end result was well worth it. You MUST have ready 1)Pan-I used a jelly roll pan with parchment paper, no greasing needed. 2)Almonds-I lightly roasted 1 cup of slivered almonds. I then lightly chopped 1/2 the almonds & finely chopped the other 1/2. 3)use either mini choc chips or chop them in food processor. I used the slow & steady aproach but was impatient the 1st time around & after about 25 min I turned the burner up a bit. The toffee actually smelled burnt before it browned and at that point the pot & the toffee were to hot to stop it from burning. My 2nd attempt, I stirred regularly but not constantly over a medium heat for about 35 minutes. Let it come to a steady, NOT rolling boil, over medium-low heat. I did have a new thermometer which gave me an idea of when it was getting close but on the 2nd batch which turned out perfect I used a cup of ice water & dropped some in until it was perfectly brittle. It will be a medium orange-brown and quite bubbly. As soon as it was brittle I quickly poured it onto the pan. I quickly sprinkled the larger almonds into the toffee, tilted the pan to spread the toffee & then sprinkled the choc chips on top. As the chocolate melted, I gently spread it evenly & I sprinkled the finely chopped nuts on top & placed it in the fridge. Once the chocolate was set, I cut it w/large butcher knife to get nice looking peices. It was beautiful and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Well, our first attempt SUCKED!!! It separated, burned, and smoked! But we are at 6,800 ft elevation and are using Propane to cook with! We did not take these factors into account when we tried it the first time. Propane seems to burn hotter then natural gas. Our second try was much better! Here is what we did different: --I softened the butter in the microwave for 30 seconds. --Added the sugar, salt and 1 tsp vanilla before turning on the flame. --Once I saw the butter starting to melt, I started to whisk it continuously until it was combined and starting to bubble. --We used a medium/low heat to start with and lowered it to low to allow it to come up to temperature SLOWLY! --We heated it to 300F and followed the rest of the recipe (chocolate & nuts) --We took it outside and placed the pan in the snow, cooling it quickly. RESULTS? PRETTY GOOD! Still not perfect but we will attempt it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 880) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States