Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Sylvia
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Turned out great first try. Used a candy thermometer and followed the directions. I love that this takes only a few ingredients and does not make a big mess..super easy and fast clean-up for a very delicious candy..ummm I won't be buying anymore Almond Rochca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
super easy and tasty! Made it for Christmas goodie exchange at work, and it was a big hit. MUST have a candy thermometer. To add some fun, put nuts on the sheet before pouring out the toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Made this once with great success. Got cocky and, I think, ruined my candy thermometer somehow and burned it the 2nd time, did better a third time and just finished a fourth batch - perfect, delicious, sweet and buttery. I bought raw almonds, toasted them whole in the oven for a few minutes, then used my food processor to chop them into fragrant, chunky pieces. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is a delicious, fun and easy candy to make. It smells great when it's cooking and tastes even better when it's done. We're sending this candy to relatives this year for Christmas. I used white bark instead of chocolate and mixed butter and margarine in some of the batches. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I made this two nights ago and it turned out great. The only thing I changed was the chocolate - I used dark chocolate. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I have never made toffee before and was sort of intimidated by it. This was very easy and it is so delicious. I will definitly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Classic toffee, or as some call it Almond Rocca. I was reading reviews about the butter pooling, I was taught by an old friend to stir constantly and keep stirring when it separates and once it comes back together that's how you know it's done! This is a great trick, you don't need to worry about a thermometer, I promise! It will be browned and perfect. It helps speed the process to use a large iron skillet as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
EXCELLENT. JUST GOOD OLD FASHIONED TOFFEE!!! I MADE IT FOR A PARTY AND NOW EVERYONE IS AFTER ME TO EITHER GIVE THEM THE RECIPE OR MAKE THEM A BATCH. I DID ADD 1/2 VANILLA AFTER I TOOK OFF HEAT. A KEEPER~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
The first time I made this it was great. The next two times it the butter separated, then the whole thing burned. I don't know whether it turned out bad because I melted the butter before adding the sugar, or something else. Now back to the store to buy more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Really the best toffee around! Easy to make! Key things to know... Use good butter ( it will blend without looking greesy) I chop nuts and put them on the bottom of the pan before I pour the hot toffee mixture~ love extra almonds. Keep it in the fridge until you are ready to serve it ~ won't stick to your teeth when it is super cold! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very easy. Worked better the first time I made it WITHOUT a thermometer! Poured it onto the jelly roll pan just as it started to turn tan color on the bottom and I panicked. It turned out PERFECT. The second time I measured the temperature to 285 and turned it out too soon. Next time will just eyeball it. Although I prefer the flavor of Ghirardelli chocolate chips, they do not melt completely since they are bigger than Nestles. The Nestles taste fine and melt better. I sprinkle chopped almonds on top of my parchment paper and then again on top of the melted chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 822) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States