Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
EXCELLENT. JUST GOOD OLD FASHIONED TOFFEE!!! I MADE IT FOR A PARTY AND NOW EVERYONE IS AFTER ME TO EITHER GIVE THEM THE RECIPE OR MAKE THEM A BATCH. I DID ADD 1/2 VANILLA AFTER I TOOK OFF HEAT. A KEEPER~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
The first time I made this it was great. The next two times it the butter separated, then the whole thing burned. I don't know whether it turned out bad because I melted the butter before adding the sugar, or something else. Now back to the store to buy more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Really the best toffee around! Easy to make! Key things to know... Use good butter ( it will blend without looking greesy) I chop nuts and put them on the bottom of the pan before I pour the hot toffee mixture~ love extra almonds. Keep it in the fridge until you are ready to serve it ~ won't stick to your teeth when it is super cold! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very easy. Worked better the first time I made it WITHOUT a thermometer! Poured it onto the jelly roll pan just as it started to turn tan color on the bottom and I panicked. It turned out PERFECT. The second time I measured the temperature to 285 and turned it out too soon. Next time will just eyeball it. Although I prefer the flavor of Ghirardelli chocolate chips, they do not melt completely since they are bigger than Nestles. The Nestles taste fine and melt better. I sprinkle chopped almonds on top of my parchment paper and then again on top of the melted chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I have never made candy before and this turned out perfect. Just be patient while making because it does need to reach 300*.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Poor recipe! Stirring occasionally will result in a broken oily mess! I had to salvage this recipe with cream to re-emulsify. I made Carmel. Baker beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Great recipe! I've made this every Christmas for the past 3-4 years and love the taste and ease of making. Toffee is my FAVORITE and this recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
have also microwaved this... 1 c. sugar 1/2 c. butter 1/4 c. water 1 tsp. vanilla 1/2 c. semi sweet chocolate chips 1/2 c. chopped nuts Combine sugar, butter and water in a deep 2 quart bowl. Microwave, uncovered 4 minutes. Stir. Microwave, uncovered, 4 to 6 minutes, or until candy reaches the hard crack stage, 300 degrees. Stir in vanilla. Pour onto greased cookie sheet. Sprinkle with chocolate chips. Let stand until chips are softened; spread evenly over toffee. Sprinkle with nuts, pressing them into chocolate. Refrigerate to set. When cool, break into pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
yum yum yum used only 1 1/2 cups butter and sugar and a shallow 1/4 tsp salt 1/1/2 cup chic chips perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Do not listen to any of those reviews that tell you to stir constantly. As soon as butter and sugar are incorporated, leave at medium heat and let the toffee work its magic. I stir occasionally and let the mixture reach 300. DO NOT STIR FREQUENTLY, I repeat, DO NOT STIR FREQUENTLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 816) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States