Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I just made this for a holiday treat and it turned out terrific. It tastes great! I will be making more in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This is soft, bland and I knew before even trying that 285 was not hot enough so went to 300 but it still did not harden the way a toffee is supposed to. Soft enough to cut with a knife. Will be using my old tried and true recipe from here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Disappointed. This toffee did not harden. It had the consistency of caramel. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This was my first time making toffee. I cut the recipe in half as I wanted to see how well it came out. The only change I made was adding 1/4 cup water with the butter and sugar. I let it cook on a low-medium heat for about 30 minutes. I stirred til the ingredients came to a boil, then stirred occasionally til it registered 275 on the thermometer. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I have made this 3 times. Going by the recipe as well as suggestions other cooks on this site used. No matter what there is some butter separation.Very frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Tasty and very easy. Boil and stir until it reaches 300 degrees to make it more breakable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Oops: I forgot to mention that when I make this (as I have for 40 years) the recipe calls for 3 TBS water. I've never used a candy thermometer, just cook about 15 minutes till the right color - and it has never separated. I spread it as thinly as possible on a greased cookie sheet. Then I pop it in the refrigerator for a few minutes. Sometimes I sprinkle nuts on the melted chocolate - other times not. Spreading it thinly on the cookie sheet makes very thin delicate pieces - and everyone loves to receive it. And eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Easy recipe, rave reviews every time I bring the toffee somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Great flavor, good texture. Not difficult at all. I had no excess oil, and it turned out great, even without a candy thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
After a traumatic praline failure this Christmas season, I was pretty anxious about trying anything else that involved a candy thermometer. Much to my delight, this recipe turned out PERFECTLY on my first try! I made no changes; just followed it exactly. It's a Christmas miracle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengirl913

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 848) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States