Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This was the first time I've attempted toffee. I admit I did not use a candy thermometer, but just cooked until a dark amber color. Otherwise,I followed the recipe as written. We loved it. It was a tiny bit bitter, but next time I'll cook it for a shorter time and use a heavier pan as others have suggested. This is the perfect toffee texture. Yum.....my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Made this as written and the butter pooled on the top... still tasted great though. Made the next batch but stirred it the entire time and the butter did not pool at all. Yes! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I have made this recipe for Christmas gifts for a few years now, it is always the hit. Definitely use a sturdy saucepan, stir constantly until it boils, then don't stir at all until it reaches the proper temp - then give it a good stir and transfer to pan. Yum yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This was my first go at toffee making and I am now on my third batch! I followed the recipe as written with just the addition of a little vanilla extract. I followed all the tips e.g. used my le crueset pot, stirred constantly to a slow, low boil, then stirred frequently but not constantly to the temperature listed (just below 300, after checking my candy thermometer in boiling water). I couldn't be more pleased with the product. I like a thinner toffee, so I spread it out on a cookie sheet. Perfecto! Thanks for this! To the one who posted that this is more of a praline, it isn't. You just didn't let it reach the desired temperature. This does take patience but it is oh so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
My first try and SUCCESS! I have made this many years ago so I wasn't sure how it would turn out. I don't even use a candy thermometer but rather go by the color and smell (as well as cold water drop to test for crunchiness). I put chopped almonds (raw) on bottom first. The toffee toastes the almonds for you and the thickness is perfect. I cook it a bit longer to get a true brittle consistency, not soft ball stage, it turns out crunchier... personal preference. It's easy to burn so watch it carefully while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I made this recipe with a friend this weekend and it couldn't have worked out better! It's absolutely delicious and tastes just like a Skor bar. It's so easy, too. We didn't have a candy thermometer, but we stirred the butter and sugar mixture constantly until it turned a dark amber colour - which takes quite awhile. Stirring constantly helps because the butter starts to separate. After it was finished boiling, we poured it into the pan. TIP: dab off the excess butter that pools in the pan with paper towel. We also found that the chocolate chips weren't melting quick enough on top, so we popped the whole pan into the oven for a few minutes at 170 degrees. Finally, we topped it with crushed pecans and almonds. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was my first attempt at toffee...I love the stuff but was always afraid I would burn it or not get it to the right "crack" and would end up with a blob. It turned out perfect!!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
DOUBLE FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I have been making Toffee for Christmas give-away's for YEARS! MOST important- you MUST use butter. At first you may want to use half of this recipe. Never use more than the 2 cups of butter/sugar. It just doesn't work. People who get separation are probably using margarine. My twist - I chop walnuts and put them on the baking sheet. About 1 1/2 cups scattered around so the sheet is covered but there are openings in between. As your butter/sugar mixture comes to temp, (do not stop stiring), you will see a VERY slight smoke. DRIZZLE immediatley over nuts. Then top with choc. chips. Wait a minute or two, then spread the chocolate with the back of a spoon. This will give you pretty swirls. Sometimes I will sprinkle a few chopped nuts ontop. After cool break into pieces. If you used alot of nuts, you may have to cut into pieces. If you spread the nuts a bit thinner, you can poke the toffee with the tip of a sharp knife. It will break into nice irregular pieces. This is just the best stuff! And now all my friends expect it every year. Start your own tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rochelle
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Oh my Gosh! I made this for Thanksgiving today... what a great recipe! I used macadamia nuts instead of almonds in honor of my Hawaiian friends. Mahalo! (Hawaiian for Thank You!) I followed the recipe to the letter, but I stirred constantly. Thanks for a wonderful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 822) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States