Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Well, our first attempt SUCKED!!! It separated, burned, and smoked! But we are at 6,800 ft elevation and are using Propane to cook with! We did not take these factors into account when we tried it the first time. Propane seems to burn hotter then natural gas. Our second try was much better! Here is what we did different: --I softened the butter in the microwave for 30 seconds. --Added the sugar, salt and 1 tsp vanilla before turning on the flame. --Once I saw the butter starting to melt, I started to whisk it continuously until it was combined and starting to bubble. --We used a medium/low heat to start with and lowered it to low to allow it to come up to temperature SLOWLY! --We heated it to 300F and followed the rest of the recipe (chocolate & nuts) --We took it outside and placed the pan in the snow, cooling it quickly. RESULTS? PRETTY GOOD! Still not perfect but we will attempt it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
These were yummy! I added a little extra sea salt because I love salty & sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
So easy and so good. My mother in law came over for Christmas dinner and couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Barnesville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Made it twice in two weeks love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I just got done making this receipe for the first time. I used a 4 quart non stick pot using medium heat and stirring SLOWLY and constantly using a non-slotted wooden spoon. Just like my mother taught me years ago. No butter separation. I cooked the toffee to 290 F, it will be a little soft but I plan on giving it to my children whose chewing muscles might not be up to the task of a hard candy. I simply followed the directions for the choclate, spreading with the back of the same spoon I used to stir the toffee. The combined heat melted the morsels very nicely and the layering turned out great. I am using silivered almods, non-toasted this time. Usually I like toasted nuts, but we will see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made this for Christmas gifts and it was a huge hit! People are still talking about it. Keeping this recipe forever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paige
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
giving this 5 stars as this was very simple and it came out perfect! I've made toffee 2x's and both times used this recipe to the T and both times came out perfect! Thank you for posting this!!! LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige
Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Very good. I wish the chocolate had melted a little more, but that's probably my own issue, not the recipe's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Yum! This got rave reviews. I opted to make it thinner, but more brittle (cooked it until it was quite dark brown), added vanilla extract and a little extra salt, pretoasted the almonds, and also put almonds into the pan so the almonds were both 1) in the toffee and 2) on top of the chocolate. The tips I got from other reviews that helped a lot: Heat on medium heat only, err on side of cooking too slowly. Should take 20 mins to get to 285 degrees (for softer toffee, or 300-310 for harder toffee), otherwise you are going too fast. Heating slowly also will help you avoid having the butter separate from the sugar (which several other reviewers said they had problems with). Drop toffee into ice water to test if it's ready, should be brittle. Use heavy bottomed pan. Stir only occasionally. Use wooden spoon for even heating. Chilling should take 45-60 mins. If necessary, pour/wipe off extra oil off before adding chocolate to help it stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 860) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States