Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
So easy and so good. My mother in law came over for Christmas dinner and couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Barnesville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Made it twice in two weeks love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I just got done making this receipe for the first time. I used a 4 quart non stick pot using medium heat and stirring SLOWLY and constantly using a non-slotted wooden spoon. Just like my mother taught me years ago. No butter separation. I cooked the toffee to 290 F, it will be a little soft but I plan on giving it to my children whose chewing muscles might not be up to the task of a hard candy. I simply followed the directions for the choclate, spreading with the back of the same spoon I used to stir the toffee. The combined heat melted the morsels very nicely and the layering turned out great. I am using silivered almods, non-toasted this time. Usually I like toasted nuts, but we will see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made this for Christmas gifts and it was a huge hit! People are still talking about it. Keeping this recipe forever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paige
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
giving this 5 stars as this was very simple and it came out perfect! I've made toffee 2x's and both times used this recipe to the T and both times came out perfect! Thank you for posting this!!! LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige
Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Very good. I wish the chocolate had melted a little more, but that's probably my own issue, not the recipe's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Yum! This got rave reviews. I opted to make it thinner, but more brittle (cooked it until it was quite dark brown), added vanilla extract and a little extra salt, pretoasted the almonds, and also put almonds into the pan so the almonds were both 1) in the toffee and 2) on top of the chocolate. The tips I got from other reviews that helped a lot: Heat on medium heat only, err on side of cooking too slowly. Should take 20 mins to get to 285 degrees (for softer toffee, or 300-310 for harder toffee), otherwise you are going too fast. Heating slowly also will help you avoid having the butter separate from the sugar (which several other reviewers said they had problems with). Drop toffee into ice water to test if it's ready, should be brittle. Use heavy bottomed pan. Stir only occasionally. Use wooden spoon for even heating. Chilling should take 45-60 mins. If necessary, pour/wipe off extra oil off before adding chocolate to help it stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
My first time making anything like this - it was awesome! Everyone was impressed. I read many many reviews and followed the directions. My butter did separate a bit but it didn't affect the outcome at all. When I poured the toffee onto my pan, the oil ran off to the side and got left behind when it cooled and I picked it up to break it apart. Also, I had no thermometer but after about 20 minutes I dripped a bit into cold water and then fished it out with a spoon and ate it, it was crunchy and melted in my mouth. Doesn't even stick to your teeth, just melts. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I am a very experienced cook and this recipe is my Achilles heel. It has taken me as many as 5 tries before it works, although when it does, it's amazing. The only problem is that although I try all the tips in the reviews, I end up with a gritty mess that seperates at the end of the cooking process. My new thought is that I am letting it boil too hard. So, I'll probably give it one more shot because this holiday season, I've wasted 4 lbs of butter and 8 cups of sugar but I'm determined to serve this along side my New Year's eve feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellyn Oaksmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 846) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States