Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This was my first time making toffee. I cut the recipe in half as I wanted to see how well it came out. The only change I made was adding 1/4 cup water with the butter and sugar. I let it cook on a low-medium heat for about 30 minutes. I stirred til the ingredients came to a boil, then stirred occasionally til it registered 275 on the thermometer. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I have made this 3 times. Going by the recipe as well as suggestions other cooks on this site used. No matter what there is some butter separation.Very frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Tasty and very easy. Boil and stir until it reaches 300 degrees to make it more breakable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Oops: I forgot to mention that when I make this (as I have for 40 years) the recipe calls for 3 TBS water. I've never used a candy thermometer, just cook about 15 minutes till the right color - and it has never separated. I spread it as thinly as possible on a greased cookie sheet. Then I pop it in the refrigerator for a few minutes. Sometimes I sprinkle nuts on the melted chocolate - other times not. Spreading it thinly on the cookie sheet makes very thin delicate pieces - and everyone loves to receive it. And eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Easy recipe, rave reviews every time I bring the toffee somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Great flavor, good texture. Not difficult at all. I had no excess oil, and it turned out great, even without a candy thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
After a traumatic praline failure this Christmas season, I was pretty anxious about trying anything else that involved a candy thermometer. Much to my delight, this recipe turned out PERFECTLY on my first try! I made no changes; just followed it exactly. It's a Christmas miracle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengirl913

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This recipe was so easy and I found it to be fairly forgiving. I didn't stir constantly and also added a little vanilla. It tastes amazing, breaks apart easily and stores well. Now, if I can just get it packaged up and given out this Christmas before we eat it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Loved it so easy too! My family love it also think I'll make it for holiday gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Very Easy! I read several reviews and tips (thanks to all), and was able to accomplish this right off. My kids were gathered around in excitement as I stirred. Thanks for this quick easy version! We love homemade goodies of all kind. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 877) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States