Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Yummy! Leave out the almonds, though, too messy with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Zartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
WARNING: Do not make this unless you have friends and family to share with, as this toffee has a way of breaking even the most determined will power. I do tweak this recipe. Stirring seems to be debated when making toffee. I use a silicone spatula and stir constantly before the mixture boils, then use the spatula sparingly to "turn" the toffee from the sides and bottom. Also, I do not cover both sides of the toffee with chocolate, as it tends to be overwhelming. I make my topping by laying out parchment on my baking sheet then spreading finely grated almonds (i use a rotary cheese grater) then a layer of gharadeli mini semi-sweet morsels (and sea salt). The molten toffee will melt the chips and the weight will help the almond stick to the chocolate. I also add some vanilla extract right before pouring it onto the chocolate, and as mentioned, sea salt which adds a little more complexity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ppleater
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
This recipe is absolutely fantastic! Beware, it does make a lot so you might want to only make half. You do not even need a candy thermometer. Make sure you heat it to a dark, dark amber so it is hard when it cools down. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
This is the easiest and most delicious toffee. Highly recommended it. I have added it to the family recipe book. My coworkers repeatedly ask me to bring more to the office....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Wow!! My first time ever making toffee and it turned out perfectly! I made it to go in my favor bags for my Mother's Day brunch and man...these things are amazing! I followed the recipe to a 'T' with the exception of adding a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract. The process of the butter/sugar mixture turning dark amber took longer than expected but it was worth the wait. I bought my Taylor brand candy thermometer at Target and it says 'cracked hard' 300 degrees so I let the mixture get to that temp. The mixture was super easy to spread with a silicon spatula. While the butter/sugar mixture did it's thing, I melted the chocolate chips in a double boiler (so the chocolate isn't on direct heat). I poured the chocolate on the toffee and spread that with a different silicon spatula. Placed the concoction in the refrigerator for about 30-40 minutes and Voila...awesomeness!!! No nuts this time but I'll make them again and again and again!!! Holidays, homemade birthday presents, just because. This is now my go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Vela Ela Ela Eh Eh!!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Really yummy and entirely too delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renée-Hugh Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This really is good - but you need to make sure it gets hot enough - to candy stage - otherwise it will be grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shy3l
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I tried d recipe unfortunately my caramel was burnt little though it was nice... Gona try again nd hopefully I wont burn it again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I love the taste but did have to pour off about 1/2 c butter. Never had a problem with toffee recipes before but this one does call for more butter than others I've tried. I also add 1 tsp. Vanilla extract and I use Hershey chocolate bars instead of the choc. Called for Makes it yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 880) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States