Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
This is the easiest and most delicious toffee. Highly recommended it. I have added it to the family recipe book. My coworkers repeatedly ask me to bring more to the office....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Wow!! My first time ever making toffee and it turned out perfectly! I made it to go in my favor bags for my Mother's Day brunch and man...these things are amazing! I followed the recipe to a 'T' with the exception of adding a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract. The process of the butter/sugar mixture turning dark amber took longer than expected but it was worth the wait. I bought my Taylor brand candy thermometer at Target and it says 'cracked hard' 300 degrees so I let the mixture get to that temp. The mixture was super easy to spread with a silicon spatula. While the butter/sugar mixture did it's thing, I melted the chocolate chips in a double boiler (so the chocolate isn't on direct heat). I poured the chocolate on the toffee and spread that with a different silicon spatula. Placed the concoction in the refrigerator for about 30-40 minutes and Voila...awesomeness!!! No nuts this time but I'll make them again and again and again!!! Holidays, homemade birthday presents, just because. This is now my go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Vela Ela Ela Eh Eh!!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Really yummy and entirely too delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renée-Hugh Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This really is good - but you need to make sure it gets hot enough - to candy stage - otherwise it will be grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shy3l
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I tried d recipe unfortunately my caramel was burnt little though it was nice... Gona try again nd hopefully I wont burn it again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I love the taste but did have to pour off about 1/2 c butter. Never had a problem with toffee recipes before but this one does call for more butter than others I've tried. I also add 1 tsp. Vanilla extract and I use Hershey chocolate bars instead of the choc. Called for Makes it yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
The recipe turned out fantastic on my first attempt! Perfect! No separation of butter, sugar---no---scorched spots! And, no crystallization, perfect! Now, because I am curious and like a challenge, I did a number of things "WRONG"! I wanted to see if I would be successful anyway! I used "frozen" Costco Kirkland" salt free butter! (One person said that's why her batch did not turn out!) It rained today (Bad news, right?) I read many of the evaluations. I decided to try the 300 degree F suggested temperature. (I have a very accurate instant read thermometer.) When I MAKE this EXCELLENT RECIPE again-----I will use the 285 degree F reading as the recipe suggests. I think this 300 Degree F is way too brittle for my liking! I used a wooden spoon. I stirred VERY little. I use a medium temperature to cook. My stove is a conduction model, no burned spots. I used a 9 X 12 cake pan lined with parchment paper to pour the toffee into. NEXT TIME---- I would use a large lined cookie sheet (lined with parchment.) The toffee is too thick for me! I used Bittersweet Chocolate Chips and Cashews for my nut preference. Next time, I would use Milk chocolate instead of the bittersweet, because I just do not care for the bittersweet. Frankly, I do not see how you can fail if you use a good instant read thermometer, and follow the recipe, exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breadbaker2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cannon Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I made this recipe yesterday for the first time. I was pleasantly surprised at the accuracy of the directions. Everything worked out very well. It was easy and very good and I will use the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This turned out fabulous. Took it to work and everyone loved it. I really didn't bother with the temperature as it reached over the limit before it turned a nice amber color. Just cooked the mixture on medium (boiling) and stirred continuously until it was thoroughly combined and a nice amber color. Carefully took it off the stove and poured into a parchment paper lined baking sheet. I will do this again and am going to try some flavoring variations (cinnamon, nutmeg, etc.) Also, it is quite inexpensive to make. Two pounds of toffee as delicious as this is would certainly cost $ 25.00 at a specialty store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 877) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States